Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

In the market for a new diesel, what to get???

2K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  897.3alltheway! 
#1 ·
Alright guys me and my wife are in the market for a diesel. I've had a few 7.3s and a cummins so I'm not a total newbie. Just trying to get some honest opinions from my fellow ford owners. With that being said my options as of now are some what limited. We're trying to stay under 20k and ill be trading my 07 Chevy gasser in. The truck I decide on will be the one that sucks around till it falls apart! So longevity is my #1 prioritie but I don't know if I really wann give up the new fancy creature comforts.

With that being said which one would be the best, low mile 7.3, 6.0, or a 6.4? I e owned the 7.3 so I know there the most reliable out of the box but like I said a ove I want some of the newer creature comforts. I've do e a little research on the 6.0 and really like them but just can't seem to talk myself into pulling the trigger with them needing so much to make bulletproof. Now the 6.4's I've not researched enough to even make a claim other than I've heard horror stories about the motors locking up and some people saying there a bigger headache than the 6.0..

Whichever one I get will have some mods done but nothing crazy, I have no problem taking the steps to bulletproof my truck but I want it to be on my terms not because of mechanical failure.

Bah I'm just rambling now, point me in the right direction fellas! As you can see I'm torn in which way to go!

See less See more
#2 ·
Personally I would go 05-07 with a 6.0