Looking at a F250 6.0L turbo diesel tomorrow, new to diesels - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2013, 08:00 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Looking at a F250 6.0L turbo diesel tomorrow, new to diesels

Hey Everyone,

My wife and I are looking into getting a diesel truck and found one that looks nice. Its a 2003 F250 Lariat SuperDuty with a 6.0L turbo diesel engine. The truck has 125000 miles on it (which I hear is just broken in for most diesels). We currently live in the rockies of Colorado, and plan to move up to Alaska next year, so we will be living in cold environments. There are two things I could use help with.

1) I am new to Ford trucks, and I have seen some people complaining on the forums about their 6.0's and others saying they were great. What are your opinions? What should I be aware of and look out for when I go look at this truck tomorrow?

I also know that a lot of times what people get out of their trucks depends on how they take care of them. So...

2) I am new to diesels and have seen people posting about putting different things in with their oil in the winter. I have always been a bit hesitant to put any type of additives into my cars. Is this normal or recommended for diesels? I know we will have to get an engine block heater when we get to Alaska, would that be enough to take care of it?

If you have any other comments or things that might be helpful for a Ford or Diesel noob like me, let me know. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-07-2013, 01:33 PM