Trailer Brake?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2008, 06:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 256
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Trailer Brake??

Question... I have an 04 that does not have the trailer brake intigrated in it and was wondering if anyone has put one in there older trucks?? or if it is more pain than it is worth?? thanks guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:06 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 256
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anybody??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:08 AM
KVFD
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kearney, Nebraska
Posts: 4,061
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to redstroker_2002
u talkin bout the brake box in the cab? its not hard just do a nice job wiring b/c i see lots of people that just hack them in there
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 256
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes I was talking about the newer factory one that is in the trucks... is it doable and is it worth it? or should I just buy a normal aftermarket one and call it a day??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chrisman,ill
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the wires to connect to should already be there if ya have the trailer light plug from factory..maybe one of the techs can tell ya which ones...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:12 AM
KVFD
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kearney, Nebraska
Posts: 4,061
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to redstroker_2002
o the factory one.... i dont have a clue i would just get a kit at farm store and do a good job putin it in
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:17 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jarrettsville, MD
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This makes it sound like a bolt in type install, but requires a reflash to calibrate everything.Powerstrokeshop.com I don't know much more about it other than this. The tow command works better than any other brake controller system I have used, but is it worth $250-$300 more than a simple brake controller?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:27 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hudson, NY
Posts: 487
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think the ford kit is around $500 and comes with a new brake master cylinder. It has a port where a sensor measures the hydrualic pressure I believe.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:46 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 256
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
wow expensive?? didn't think they would be that much... thanks for the help guys I will try to get a hold of ford and find out...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-27-2008, 06:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 386
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
bull if you want electric brake controller you can get the plug in harness from ford and splice into that, the plug is on the right side under the the dash behind the fuse access panel it's very simple and can be done in less than an hour
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors