Pros and cons of a diesel - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2013, 05:33 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pros and cons of a diesel

I'm new to this site and I've been reading posts trying to get a good feel for all the different model years and power plants. I thought it was probably time for me to post my scenario and let some of you throw some thoughts back at me.

So I'm a mechanical engineer, weekend mechanic, I have to have something to wrench on or I go nuts... I enjoy the routine maintenance but I'm not a fan of wrenching to stay on the road, I'm to old for that! This would be my first diesel, I've always wanted one but I don't want a lemon... Or a constant project... I will be towing a camper with the truck, after years of tent camping the wife has said we will be buying one... I do have some drives I take that are about 170 miles with light trailer loads, maybe once a month or 2 months. I drive 20 miles one way to work, but I do make some short runs at work... I have an 02 explorer I bought new, I have 163k miles on her and she is extremely dependable and will be my second vehicle.

I really like the 08 interiors and styling but I'm not set on the newer years... I would say my budget is $25k which limits me especially from newer models. I'm not looking to go fast just avoid being snake bit by making an uneducated purchase. I'm a bit of a tech junkie so I love gauges and being able to monitor performance.

I would like to hear everyone's thoughts on purchasing a stock truck, I don't mind mods but it would be case by case... So 7.3's are reliable, 6.0's scare me but I know there are good ones, I don't know much about the 6.4's or 6.7's.... I've been looking at 99's and newer...

Thanks in advance!