Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

New to the Ford Diesel

804 views 3 replies 3 participants last post by  Dingoe 
#1 ·
My questions may be redundant to prior members, but I’m new to the Ford Diesels and I’m needing just a bit of assistance.

My last truck was a 2000 Ram2500 4x4 Cummins and I sold it because I needed to get out of debt, but it’s time to look for another. Based on my budget, I’ll be looking at 1994/95 and may be up to 97’s F250s, but that would be trucks in the 200k plus range. Under 200k sounds better, but cash is the issue. If I go back to Dodge I’ll look 1996 12V to 98.5 24V. There we’re things I didn’t like about the Dodge, but that was small stuff and not it’s overall operation. I really screwed up selling it, but that’s spilled milk at this point.

As for the Fords, when did they switch to the PSD? I thought it was 94, but I’ve found a 94 and a 95 that both just said Turbo and not PSD. Were the early years good motors or is it better to look to the 96/97’s? Again due to funds I’d be looking at 200k plus in the 97’s. Have had the Ram and knowing that normal runtime is 600-700k; 200k isn’t bad if the owner is original (or owned for most of the miles) and has records and kept it up (fresh juice and filter at least every 4-5k if working it).

I’ll be replacing a 92 G20 gas van that’s my daily driver and I’ll need this as the same and for grove work and such.

How’s mpg unloaded in the 94-97’s. In my Cummins unloaded I’d get 18/20, loaded with a Lance Camper I was pulling 16 at best on the highway with AT and GearVender Over/under system.

Thanks for all the help with any luck I’ll have enough cash to start shopping.

See less See more
#2 ·
Ford started using the PSD in mid 1994, and they have the a "turbo diesel" badge on the fender, what you need to look at is the engine code (8th digit of vin), vin F is the code for the direct injection turbo motor (powerstroke)