Looking to buy a new truck - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2013, 04:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Looking to buy a new truck

My wife has finally given me the green light to purchase a truck in the near future and I've been trolling around here and many other sites for a couple years and done a lot of reading and done a lot of research but cannot make a decision.

I would LOVE to do a fummins conversion, it seems to be the most ideal vehicle.
I have driven a few trucks, my uncle has a mostly stock early 99 powerstroke and also has a 05 powerstroke dually that has been studded and a few basic mods.

Last year i drove the 05 from Michigan to Sturgis, SD and i was really impressed with the towing capability and I love the body style and the looks of the interior. I was not impressed with the mileage we got and the dual rear wheel is not appealing to me.

I have driven the 7.3 and it is completely stock except air filter. It feels like a dog and i know it has extremely good reliability and longevity, but i think it's just because it's stock.

I havent driven any newer cummins trucks, but an old friend has a 92 12v that is highly modified, but not exactly sure of the mods, although i could find out. He is a graduate of WyoTech and that truck was pretty peppy.

I'm not crazy about the looks or interior of the dodge, and I've ridden in a bunch of duramaxes and they don't really tickle my fancy. Although i do like the Allison transmission, again because of their reliability.

There is a few things that I do know i like and have to have.
1) Crew Cab truck, long or short bed does not matter
2) I love the better turning radius of the 05+ Powerstroke, so much easier to turn and i like the wheel style.