Help with purchase 6.0 or 6.4 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2012, 11:20 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Help with purchase 6.0 or 6.4

Help!!! I'm new to powerstokes and diesel's in general. I don't know anyone that has had a diesel before. I don't even know what to look for or listen for when test driving. Here are a couple questions I have:

I was looking at 06 f250 with 6.0. It had aftermarket exhaust and air intake. I started it up and a little smoke came out exhaust. Is this normal?

There was a whistling noise coming from the exhaust. It would go away for a few seconds and then come back. What exactly is that noise and is it suppose to be constant?

My budget is 26k. Should I be looking at 6.0 with decent mileage or 6.4 with higher mileage?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-02-2012, 11:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrooks1983 View Post
Help!!! I'm new to powerstokes and diesel's in general. I don't know anyone that has had a diesel before. I don't even know what to look for or listen for when test driving. Here are a couple questions I have:

I was looking at 06 f250 with 6.0. It had aftermarket exhaust and air intake. I started it up and a little smoke came out exhaust. Is this normal?

There was a whistling noise coming from the exhaust. It would go away for a few seconds and then come back. What exactly is that noise and is it suppose to be constant?

My budget is 26k. Should I be looking at 6.0 with decent mileage or 6.4 with higher mileage?

Thank you.