Foglight only option - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2007, 08:22 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Foglight only option

I've seen some of the 03+ come from the factory with this option.

I want to ride with just my running lights and fog lights. Is there a wire I can cross/jump, switch I can buy, etc... that I can do w/o hacking up the factory wiring???

I know I can just put them on another toggle switch but I don't want that...

Any help???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-16-2007, 08:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Albertville, AL
Posts: 965
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
does your head light switch not pull out to turn the fogs on? if so, they should run with the running lights too.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-16-2007, 08:31 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
it clicks to the right to turn the running lights on, then clicks right one more time to the head lights. Only when it's on head lights will it allow you pull the switch out towards you, turning the fogs on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-16-2007, 08:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: lewiston, Id.
Posts: 5,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
that way you can roll around town gangsta style
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-16-2007, 08:35 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Actually we call it "riding dirty" around here hahaha...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-16-2007, 08:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Albertville, AL
Posts: 965
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maintain View Post
it clicks to the right to turn the running lights on, then clicks right one more time to the head lights. Only when it's on head lights will it allow you pull the switch out towards you, turning the fogs on.
must be a diff. then. when i turn to the running and head lights, it will let me pull it out and it keeps the fogs on.

but when you go to high beams, it cuts the fogs off. unless you do the steveracermod but will only work beginning on the '02's i think.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-16-2007, 08:41 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by BamaF350 View Post
must be a diff. then. when i turn to the running and head lights, it will let me pull it out and it keeps the fogs on.

but when you go to high beams, it cuts the fogs off. unless you do the steveracermod but will only work beginning on the '02's i think.
Yeh, the 03+ have the option where you can turn to running lights and then pull out the switch for the fog's.

And the 02+ have a different fuse block setup/locations...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-16-2007, 09:37 PM
PIPE HITTER
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 1,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Marty, I did the mod on my other truck. Take a test light pull out the factory headlight switch, test to see which wires are park, and fog, take a couple of t-taps and jumper the 2, done. The fogs will also stay on with the high beams.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-17-2007, 03:13 AM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I'll need to talk to you more about this - but I gotta run to school. Interested in what you did, I just don't understand it lol.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-17-2007, 11:31 AM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
If I use T-taps that means I have to splice factory wiring - no no!

I guess just use a jumper from the parking lamps to the fogs.

What gauge wire should I use???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors