Fuel filter change? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2006, 08:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuel filter change?

I have a 2000 , 7.3L turbo diesel and have been changing my fuel filter ( located on top of the engine) with a strap wrench, it is becoming harder and harder now. Is there a easier way?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-17-2006, 08:09 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
there is a wrench that is actually made for that cap. the one i own at work is made by OTC. im sure you can find on on EBAY or through a parts house (napa, autozone, carquest, etc)......but if you cant, let me know and we can work getting you one out. i can order them off of fords website which offers techs tools through OTC and other vendors.....Marc
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-17-2006, 08:12 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
here are some ebay options...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Ford-...spagenameZWDVW

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Ford-...spagenameZWDVW

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Mac-T...spagenameZWDVW
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-17-2006, 10:15 PM
PIPE HITTER
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 1,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Last time I changed mine it came with a new top, it has a big Torx slot in the center.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-18-2006, 08:13 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcop
Last time I changed mine it came with a new top, it has a big Torx slot in the center.
just dont lose the factory top tony, thast why the aftermarkets do that......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-18-2006, 10:34 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, I just purchased one, I think this will help, anything beats crawling on top of the engine with a strap wrench.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-18-2006, 10:41 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by freemand1
Thanks, I just purchased one, I think this will help, anything beats crawling on top of the engine with a strap wrench.
anytime man, glad we could help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:47 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can somebody explain the fuel filter swap process to a newbie?

After I get the right tool to open it, and swap in a new filter, do I have to fill the filter bowl up with fuel or something to make sure there's no air in it?

What's the proper procedure?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:52 AM
I don't know nuttin....

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tuttle, OK
Posts: 17,160
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just changed mine Saturday - both fuel filters on my 6.0 PSD. I didn't pour fuel in the bowl after putting the new filter in. I just put the cap back on and turned the ingition on the accessory position to allow the fuel system to pressurize and check for leaks. No leaks so i started it right up and it ran just fine. I also wondered if air would get in there but it did not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-25-2006, 11:24 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That was my thought as well, but I've heard that you can get the fuel delivery airlocked if you don't bleed it out first, was wondering if there's anything to that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors