Boost - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2007, 09:27 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to LazyBum Send a message via Yahoo to LazyBum
Boost

Please forgive me on sounding stupid, but, I am new to the "powerstroke" world. I just bought a 2001 F250SD 4x4 with a 7.3 power stroke. I was told when I bought the truck, it had a "chip" in it. It does have 2 extra gages, a pyro and a boost. Boost seldom did anything except with you really step on it, or while driving down hiway, and around town, it usually just set on 0. Today, I noticed it didn't do anything, even on hiway, or when I floored it. I just took it on a 500 mile trip, and noticed that my milage dropped about 2mpg. Other than that, it all seems to be doing ok. They are autometer gages, so I feel sure that the gages are in good shape.

Any clue as to where I need to start looking? Where can I find this "chip" and find out what I have so I can find out if I need to replace it or not with something a little more "for me" type?

Most of what I do is a little town driving, and some long distance driving to go shark fishing. Once in a while will go to a local lake and haul my pontoon boat, but other than that, thats about all it is used for.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-10-2007, 09:40 PM
The Fat Mod

First off, to the ORG. Glad ya found us.