07 or 09 PSD? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2011, 06:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question 07 or 09 PSD?

Hi folks... newbie here of course... been reading about these two models (the '07 6.0 v '09 6.4)... I asked a similar question a few weeks earlier... I have narrowed it a little more... I'm not in an immediate hurry, but am looking to buy a 'stock' CCSB loaded Lariat with less than 40k miles, and pay no more than around $32k for a '07 and $38-39k for a '09. There are many very nice trucks that meet that criteria. I'm skipping the '08 to avoid first job/yr issues, and the '10 as it is too close in price to the '11. The 6.7 has good prospects but I will only buy it 'used' in maybe '13 after further price depreciation and demonstrated reliability. SO... esthetics aside (the newer 08+ styling does grow on ya), any thoughts on spending the additional $6-7k for the 09/6.4 vs the 07/6.0? With the '09... I'd be getting more factory warranty (if I don't gas it or forget to drain the water)... but I'd take a MPG hit (unless I DPF delete/retune with a temporary only 'cheater pipe' as PA has annual auto smog visual inspections in my area, I'll be missing that cool 6.0 turbo-whistle, and I'd like to perhaps play with a vegistroke conversion some day, but that doesn't sound like it may be an option with a 6.4/6.7... BUT, will I be getting away with less potential fixes/mods with the 6.4 v 6.0 (6.0 oil cooler/EGR cooler delete or mod/ELC/studs...etc? Not interested in more power (from either engine), I just want a lower cost of ownership. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and opinions!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-12-2011, 06:44 PM
Premium Member