Question about tuners (Edge, etc.) - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-24-2007, 08:10 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question about tuners (Edge, etc.)

I had read somewhere that tuners, like edge, don't change the parameters in the trucks computer but simply modify what the computer is seeing. Is there truth to this? It seems to make sense because you don't have to unload your program like you do with others. I believe devices like Predator do modify the computer parameters and require that you actually reload your stock parameters. Any enlightenment will be appreciated.

Thanks



Chuck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-24-2007, 08:14 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,356
Thanks: 23
Thanked 24 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
Quote:
Originally Posted by brotenc View Post
I had read somewhere that tuners, like edge, don't change the parameters in the trucks computer but simply modify what the computer is seeing. Is there truth to this? It seems to make sense because you don't have to unload your program like you do with others. I believe devices like Predator do modify the computer parameters and require that you actually reload your stock parameters. Any enlightenment will be appreciated.

Thanks



Chuck
if it is the edge Juice (modual) than you are right... but if its the EVO its a programmer and you do have to load it in......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-25-2007, 07:19 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the information.

Does your triple gauge set with pod fit the F350 2007 lariat model? I might just go with gauges and forget tuners.
Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-25-2007, 02:18 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,088
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Gauge pods for the Apillar will fit 99-07 super duties. You will lose your Apillar handle though.

I'd still recommend getting an SCT or something similar for your 6.0 even if it's just to firm up the tranny or block the EGR etc... just because it makes the truck run better. If you're really worried about warranty - maybe no SCT
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors