Aux fuel tank??s - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2011, 02:31 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 926
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 1tonpower
Aux fuel tank??s

This is going out to those that have aux fuel tanks in the bed. Right now my is gravity feed and it's pain stakingly slow. It's easy to forget that you uavethe ball vale open and an over fill is eneveible.

I'm going to be putting a 10gpm pump one mine with a fuel water separator like the one you would use on a transfer tank. The set up would be using 3/4 inch hoses. It going to be filling the main tank though the filler neck, with a hose running down and into the tank to help prevent foaming.
I have two questions. Do you think a 10 gal per min pump is to much for this.. And i want to to know how you have your tanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-20-2011, 11:30 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 926
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 1tonpower
I know there are others with aux tanks.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-20-2011, 04:20 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: dallas pa
Posts: 198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i just use a transfer tank set up that way i can use it for equipment as well. so when the trucks getting low i just pull over stuff the nozzle in the truck and fill 'er up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-21-2011, 06:10 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I run my aux tank with a selector valve so I can switch between tanks from the cab. No extra pump needed, and no risk of leaving a valve open and overfilling.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-22-2011, 03:49 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 926
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 1tonpower
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchuricht View Post
I run my aux tank with a selector valve so I can switch between tanks from the cab. No extra pump needed, and no risk of leaving a valve open and overfilling.
thats what im looking to do..but that might be a little pricey, i would need to get a remote gage for my top tank. im going to look into it though..did you rig it like that or did it come in a kit form. and do you have a gage for you aux tank...

did you tee off the frame mounted lift pump some how???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-22-2011, 04:17 AM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 34'.6264 -98.4192
Posts: 20,704
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I run a two gallon a minute pump on mine. It is a lil slow but I use it while driving so I can keep an eye on it. I run 3/4" through the filler neck as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-22-2011, 05:08 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 926
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 1tonpower
Northern Tool

This is the pump i have. I took the pump out or the plastick case. If I use its going to be plumbed in and hard wired with a dash light that will come on when the pump is on. I do t want to pull over to open anything or have to fill it with a nozzle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-22-2011, 05:38 AM
the baconator
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD 21601
Posts: 10,364
Thanks: 5
Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchuricht View Post
I run my aux tank with a selector valve so I can switch between tanks from the cab. No extra pump needed, and no risk of leaving a valve open and overfilling.
On the 96 this is what we have. with a switch on the dash to switch to it. and it is wired into the fuel gauge on the dash. It is an OBS with dual tanks but the aux tank overrides both. I don't exactly know how it works because it came on the truck when i bought it and I haven't looked at the wiring. It has a send and return line and the fuel gauge all on the top. wires and hoses run down the side and along the frame rail. I need to figure out the selector valve and the wiring.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-22-2011, 06:13 AM
the baconator
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD 21601
Posts: 10,364
Thanks: 5
Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
forgot about the set up dad had in his old dodge. it was a 60 gal tank set up to feed fuel into the filler neck though a fitting welded on the side of the neck. It was run off of a timer in the cab i think it could be set for an hour. that way you wouldn't forget to switch it off. had a i think 20 gal/hr electric pump running through a filter. it was a fairly clean set up, but I have no photos.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors