2010 F250 Diesel Cold Weather Operation Questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2011, 07:33 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question 2010 F250 Diesel Cold Weather Operation Questions

Hello,

I am a new owner of a 2010 Diesel 6.4 Powerstroke. Currently living in Texas but I will be moving to the Chicago area. I have been told by a few that unless I plug the truck in I won't be able to start it on some of those cold winter mornings. There are times, like everyweek, that the truck will sit a few days before operating and would be coldsoaked.

So, does anyone know if you can get the truck started in the cold without heating? The best oil to run in it. Tips and Tricks. Any help would be appreciated as I am new to the Diesel community
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-10-2011, 07:55 AM

Your truck is brand new so I'm assuming your glow plugs are functioning. It will start without plugging it in, you just have to let the plugs cycle. However, it is MUCH easier on the truck to start after it's been plugged in.
Old 01-10-2011, 08:05 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

LOL, it will start. Sunday it was -3 here and my truck started right up.
Old 01-10-2011, 09:34 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Well, I am not kidding when I said people said I will have problems starting it. What kind of oil should I use? So just wait for the glowplug light to go out before you turn it over. thanks
Old 01-10-2011, 11:53 AM

You'll be fine. I run Rotella T 15w40 in my truck. If you don't plug it in, let it warm up a bit before you take off.
Old 01-10-2011, 01:48 PM
Serving Our Country!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 737flyerdog View Post
Hello,