Lift and gear questions for a diesel newbie - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General 6.7 Discussion General 6.7 Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2014, 03:43 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Lift and gear questions for a diesel newbie

Greetings everyone. I am new to diesel trucks....and Ford trucks for that matter. I currently have a Silverado crew gaser with the 5.3. I love the truck but am in need of a 3/4 ton truck. Well I want a 3/4 ton diesel truck, the "need" is debatable. Any way, by Monday I am going to purchase one of two trucks I have deals pending on and wanted some advice from people. One is a 2012 6.7 Lariat crew cab 4x4 and the other is a brand new 2014 6.7xlt 4x4 crew. The Lariat has 3.55 gear ratio and the XLT has the 3.31. I will no doubt be putting a 6-8" lift on whatever truck I get with 37" tires (Nitto trail Grapplers or Toyos MT's) on a 20x10 wheel. My current truck is on a 6" Fabtech with 35's and a Blackbear tune. I don't think I can go back to stock height again.
Anyway I have a 33' bumper pull camper that is about 7k pounds unloaded. I pull it occasionally but it works the Chevy too much and I get 6 mpg pulling it.
I'd rather have the brand new XLT, but the Lariat has a few nicer features and the 3.55. The cost is about 10 bucks different a month on the two so that is not a factor for my decision. At this point, I would like to know if I could get the 3.31 and be ok once it gets the lift and tires? or should I go 3.55 and get the used Lariat (only 20k miles). And I did search, but its seems to be conflicting info on the lift subjects.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-26-2014, 05:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict