Let's See Your Cab Lights!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General 6.7 Discussion General 6.7 Discussion

User Tag List

 6Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old 07-09-2014, 10:46 AM Thread Starter
POWERCHOKER
 
Dantron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 48
Thanked 111 Times in 102 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Let's See Your Cab Lights!!!

I'm going to be installing cab lights soon and I want to get a feel on how everyone has their lights positioned... Thanks!
Dantron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 07-09-2014, 10:58 AM
Premium Member
 
Coffaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I was just going to order a set and put them in the factory position.
Coffaro is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 07-09-2014, 11:26 AM Thread Starter
POWERCHOKER
 
Dantron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 48
Thanked 111 Times in 102 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coffaro View Post
I was just going to order a set and put them in the factory position.
Hmm..

I've been contemplating whether I should align them front to back, kind of like a mohawk.
seadog likes this.
Dantron is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 07-09-2014, 01:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have the recon smoked lenses and put in led amber lights. truck came factory with cab light option. i think they make the truck look better, but to each their own

2012 F350 CCSB 6.7 Lariat
automoto is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 07-09-2014, 01:25 PM
RTFU!

 
GridLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 27
Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dantron View Post
Hmm..

I've been contemplating whether I should align them front to back, kind of like a mohawk.
Dantron, I regularly find myself laughing out loud to your posts.

When I bought my truck they didn't come with roof clearance lights so, I had them installed by the dealer. Here's a couple pics.

IMG_1379_zps8a175a4a.jpg Photo by dcampisano | Photobucket

IMG_1380_zps97b1968d.jpg Photo by dcampisano | Photobucket
Dantron likes this.

2016 F350 KR

Thanks 8LUGTRUCKGEAR!

-Dave
GridLine is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 07-09-2014, 06:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
seadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 82
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cablights

Cablights from the factory(and the rest of them too)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1962.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	91.8 KB
ID:	309858  
Dantron likes this.

[/SIGPIC]Seadog
2014 C/C Lariat Ultimate
Short Box,Stock
seadog is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 07-09-2014, 08:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
travisH3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 41 Times in 40 Posts
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Dantron was asking me about my atomic LED cab lights and figured I'd post for everyone to see in case anyone was interested. I ordered the clear lens ford atomic led kit from strobes n more. ill post a link a little further down. after doing my dads platinum first i decided to wire the lights up my self. the atomic lights use the factory plug but for the strobes there is a signal wire that goes from the atomic led flasher relay to each one of the lights. the relay has to be mounted down by the headlight switch behind the dash for room so running a wire from the relay to each light got messy but doable. for doing my 6.4 i decided its cleaner looking to use the atomic led harness which has the wires already shrink wrapped and organized for a clean and hassle free install. definitely worth the extra money. they are very easy to install. they are a dead copy of the oem cab light housing and are very good quality. ive installed a few sets and everyone loves them. ive seen a few people wire them up where the cab lights stay on and strobe but they arent installed right. if you wire them up like the directions say, if your running lights are on and you flip the strobes on the cab lights should turn completely off and strobe. you will see in my video. i have the running lights on and the cab lights still strobe and when you turn strobes off the cab lights go back to normal operation. i left mine on the random flash pattern but there is a wire you can hook up to change pattern. you hook up the wire to a switch and the other end to a 12v+ source. flip the switch on and off and it will cycle to the next flash pattern. it will explain all this in the instructions. i left mine on random for the most noticeable caution lights i could get.

Dantron i know you mentioned wanting to make a mohawk out of the lights but with your truck being lifted they prolly wouldnt be very noticeable. plus the cab lights and a rounded shape to them to seal to the roof in the front since they mount where the cab is starting to roll down. so if you tried to mount them on the flat spot of the roof they may not seal right. id go with the factory measurements so the wiring harness works and the truck looks clean and not hacked up.

here is a link to the cab light kit. each light has like 50 leds shining in all directions so they arent like the cheap recon lights(hence the heavy price tag)

Atomice LED Custom LED Running Lights

here is a link to the ford harness, its $50 but i googled the part number and found one a good bit cheaper, just an FYI

Ford Wiring Harness for Ford Trucks ? Atomic LED - Custom LED lighting for trucks


also i just did another cab light install for my neighbor. he found a 2014 with everything he wanted except cab lights so i installed them for him this past weekend. using oem harness and oem lights. heres some pics just for you guys to see the drilling process and before and after look wise. i think the trucks look naked without them lol. i use blue painters tape to mark the holes and so they shavings dont scratch the paint



5B328017-5E98-466F-8419-0B5F944173AA_zpsfwsyjev9.jpg Photo by travis_photoalbum | Photobucket





Here's the video of my lights



Dantron likes this.

T-rav
2010 F350 6.4- H&S Single turbo kit, 5" flo pro,No limit SS cold side kit, No Limit intake, MPD billet CCV/oil filler, newton leveling kit, RED Newton traction bars, custom projector retrofit in oem lights and a bunch of LED lights LOL

Holderdown Performance #teamHDP

OUR FLEET: 2015 f450, 2014 Platinum F350, 2012 F450 6.7, 2010 F350 6.4, 2005 F350 6.0, 04 F450 6.0

Last edited by travisH3; 07-09-2014 at 09:59 PM.
travisH3 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to travisH3 For This Useful Post:
Dantron (07-09-2014)
post #8 of 20 Old 07-09-2014, 08:24 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
IronCobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Corpus Christi
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 51 Times in 44 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I love my cab lights. Been through several touch-less and brush car washes since installing mine and they have not leaked one drop. They are really bright and you can easily replace the incandescent bulbs with LED bulbs if you prefer. Also, you can tint the lenses smoked if you want using appropriate paint. Plus, they require much much smaller holes AND you only have to run 1 wire for power to each light as opposed to a power and ground wire. The lights ground to the vehicle through the hole you make.


2016 F450 Platinum FX4 CC LWB
2016 Chaparral 360IBL Fifth Wheel: 15,500lbs
GONE - 2011 F250 FX4 6.7L Lariat Ultimate
IronCobra is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 07-09-2014, 09:32 PM Thread Starter
POWERCHOKER
 
Dantron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 48
Thanked 111 Times in 102 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by travisH3 View Post
Dantron was asking me about my atomic LED cab lights and figured I'd post for everyone to see in case anyone was interested. I ordered the clear lens ford atomic led kit from strobes n more. ill post a link a little further down. after doing my dads platinum first i decided to wire the lights up my self. the atomic lights use the factory plug but for the strobes there is a signal wire that goes from the atomic led flasher relay to each one of the lights. the relay has to be mounted down by the headlight switch behind the dash for room so running a wire from the relay to each light got messy but doable. for doing my 6.4 i decided its cleaner looking to use the atomic led harness which has the wires already shrink wrapped and organized for a clean and hassle free install. definitely worth the extra money. they are very easy to install. they are a dead copy of the oem cab light housing and are very good quality. ive installed a few sets and everyone loves them. ive seen a few people wire them up where the cab lights stay on and strobe but they arent installed right. if you wire them up like the directions say, if your running lights are on and you flip the strobes on the cab lights should turn completely off and strobe. you will see in my video. i have the running lights on and the cab lights still strobe and when you turn strobes off the cab lights go back to normal operation. i left mine on the random flash pattern but there is a wire you can hook up to change pattern. you hook up the wire to a switch and the other end to a 12v+ source. flip the switch on and off and it will cycle to the next flash pattern. it will explain all this in the instructions. i left mine on random for the most noticeable caution lights i could get.

Dantron i know you mentioned wanting to make a mohawk out of the lights but with your truck being lifted they prolly wouldnt be very noticeable. plus the cab lights and a rounded shape to them to seal to the roof in the front since they mount where the cab is starting to roll down. so if you tried to mount them on the flat spot of the roof they may not seal right. id go with the factory measurements so the wiring harness works and the truck looks clean and not hacked up.

Im waiting on the video to upload to youtube. once its up Ill post the link.
Thanks man! I've had the Atomic LED cab lights in my possession for a couple weeks now and I'm getting close to the install. I also purchased the wiring harness from Atomic. It'll be good to have a rundown on how the flash system works before dropping the headliner and doing the wiring. Looking forward to the video!

By the way, I'm still kidding about the mohawk idea. I know you've heard me mention it before. I was really hoping for someone to tell me how stupid it would be look. I want to do something unique with the cab light positions, but a mohawk is plain silly. I'm thinking about going slightly wider with the outer cab lights than most people. Would that cause problems?
Dantron is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 07-09-2014, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
POWERCHOKER
 
Dantron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 48
Thanked 111 Times in 102 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronCobra View Post
I love my cab lights. Been through several touch-less and brush car washes since installing mine and they have not leaked one drop. They are really bright and you can easily replace the incandescent bulbs with LED bulbs if you prefer. Also, you can tint the lenses smoked if you want using appropriate paint. Plus, they require much much smaller holes AND you only have to run 1 wire for power to each light as opposed to a power and ground wire. The lights ground to the vehicle through the hole you make.
I wish these Atomic cab lights only required 1 hole. I'll end up having to drill 15 holes for these. The flashers will be fun to use though. It's pretty much the only reason I went with them.
Dantron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome