2011/2012 - Buy now or wait until summer? And Extended Warranties. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General 6.7 Discussion General 6.7 Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2014, 09:16 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2011/2012 - Buy now or wait until summer? And Extended Warranties.

Hi Guys.

So I'm new to Ford vehicles. I've always been a Chevy guy, and my dad and grandfather were both Chevy guys. In fact, until I test drove a 2011 F350 KR last week, I'd never even driven a Ford vehicle, and I'm 37!

I have sworn off gas-powered HD trucks, so I'm in the market for a diesel. Since most of my driving is by myself or with the family, not pulling anything, comfort is a huge deal for me. I can't even imagine spending any amount of time in a new GM vehicle. They look like engineers from Playskool designed the interiors.

I've pretty much settled on a 2011/2012 4x4 CC F250/F350. I can find plenty of used examples in the mid 30's, which is reasonable, but I'm wondering how much you think prices may drop between now and the summer since Ford is supposed to be releasing the new 2015's to dealers in April?

Also, being that this will be my first diesel, I want to make sure that I cover myself for any future costly repairs, and will be looking for an extended warranty. Because I'm looking at 3-4 year old vehicles, what I end up with will most likely start with 70-90k on the odometer, I'm wondering if there are any extended warranty options that will take that out to 150k or even 200k miles. (I know Ford warranties the engine to 100k - I want bumper-to-bumper if possible, but at the very least complete drivetrain out to the aforementioned 150-200k.)

That's it, can't wait for your comments.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-15-2014, 10:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict