Transfer Flow question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General 6.7 Discussion General 6.7 Discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 07-21-2013, 02:03 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Norcal
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Transfer Flow question

I just purchased a '13 XLT F350 cc/lb FX4, and I'd like to install my 50 gallon Transfer Flow aux tank. Will I lose my distance-to-empty feature, or can my dealer reprogram the computer for the new capacity? Any other issues you all know of that might complicate this install?
Thanks,
Marc
Tcop143 is offline  
post #2 of 10 Old 07-21-2013, 03:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
factoryflood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 331
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You'll have to get your dealer to reprogram your trucks computer for the added fuel capacity.

If you don't, your fuel gauge won't work properly and your miles to empty won't work properly.

2012 F350SRW CCSB

H&S Mini Maxx with MCC, Spartan with war hammer(FOR SALE), 5" down pipe back exhaust, AFE Stg 2 Cold Air Intake, 6k 55w HIDS, Eagle Alloys 014 20x9 0 offset wheels, 35x12.50R20 Toyo Open Country AT2 Xtreme, UWS toolbox

Inside- Pioneer AVH3200BT, 2 Kicker CVT 12's, Kicker ZX1000, 4 gague wiring, Custom sub box, 20% tint all the way around
factoryflood is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-22-2013, 06:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas Baby!!
Posts: 300
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a 60 gallon aux tank in my bed. This tank has a float gauge on it so I can tell how much is in it. It drops the fuel into the truck tank filler tube about 8-10 inches from the cap. It has a float assembly that shuts off fuel transfer if truck tank gets full. There is a ball**** shut off at the aux tank if I don't want to refill the truck tank.

When I am driving I leave the ball**** open and fuel drops into the truck tank as needed. The fuel gauge stays on full because the tank stays full. Once the aux tank is empty, the truck gauge starts falling as fuel is used. I never had to reprogram anything it just works.

The distance to empty only works right if I close the ball**** and stop fuel from transferring. The distance to empty is calculated from the fuel gauge level and not by how much fuel is used.

This system works very nicely and my range is about 650 miles when I pull my RV. The last 37 gallons are only in the truck tank so the gauge is right on as is the distance to empty computer once the aux is empty.

Even if you do not have a gauge for the aux tank, you will still see you are low long before you run out. It would be like you don't have the aux tank and just see the truck tank after the aux empties.


2012 F450 Ultimate Lariat pkg, 4X4, FX4, 5th wheel prep, camper pkg, 40console40 seat, Ingot Silver and Black guts
Reese Elite 18k 5th wheel
BedRug liner
DuraFlap flaps all 4 corners
60 gal aux tank in bed
7.4 mpg as shown @ 70mph and 25740 lbs gross!!

2012 Fuzion FZ310 Monster Edition Toy Hauler 12,500 dry 16,500 loaded to play. 3100/3500 pin weight

Breast feeding is a hard habit to quit
mowdoc is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-23-2013, 06:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by factoryflood View Post
You'll have to get your dealer to reprogram your trucks computer for the added fuel capacity.

If you don't, your fuel gauge won't work properly and your miles to empty won't work properly.
It won't work properly anyways. Say the fuel level sender outputs 0-5V. 0 is empty, 5V is full. With a different sized tank 4.2V is going to be a lot more than 4.2V on the stock tank.

With the aux tank in the bed feeding the main tank, your fuel level sender is going to send 5V 100% of the time until the aux tank is depleted.

IMO if you haven't purchased it already, get something other than a transferflow. There are other brands that make comparable or better quality tanks for the same or less money.

2012 F350 Lariat SRW CCSB 4x4 - Vermillion Red
Icon 7" Lift, BMF Novakane, 37x13.5x22 Toyo MT, MBRP Filter Back, 2WD Chin Spoiler, RDS 150 Gallon Tank
turboryan is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-23-2013, 07:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I replaced my oem with a titan tank and the fuel level works but the miles to empty acts as if it did prior to the tank.. so basically whatever it reads you can double it

Bopper is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-24-2013, 01:14 PM
lwg
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If your talking about the replacement tanks the dealer can reprogram for it. I went to the Transfer Flow 50 gallon on my truck and the dealer reprogrammed it to read correctly. Now I can drive 800+ miles between fill-ups or about 600 miles when towing.

2013 F-350 6.7, Lariat, CC SB, 4x4, FX4, Tuxedo Black on Black, Transfer Flow 50 gallon, Method Racing 20" NV, 295/65/20 Toyo A/T II's
lwg is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-24-2013, 01:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Trigger01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 152
Thanks: 12
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What does it cost to have the dealer reprogram it. I have been thinking about doing this to my truck.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

2008 F-350 Lariat 4X4 CCSB

Trigger01 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-24-2013, 01:59 PM
lwg
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trigger01 View Post
What does it cost to have the dealer reprogram it. I have been thinking about doing this to my truck.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
I think they charged me either 1/2 hour or a full hour to do it. They didn't even know that was possible until I told them about it. I also tried to get them to drop the TPMS values down as I drive an F-350 and they are rather high. They wouldn't do that though. I'll find a dealer eventually willing to take that "risk" for me...

2013 F-350 6.7, Lariat, CC SB, 4x4, FX4, Tuxedo Black on Black, Transfer Flow 50 gallon, Method Racing 20" NV, 295/65/20 Toyo A/T II's
lwg is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-24-2013, 06:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Trigger01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 152
Thanks: 12
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwg View Post
I think they charged me either 1/2 hour or a full hour to do it. They didn't even know that was possible until I told them about it. I also tried to get them to drop the TPMS values down as I drive an F-350 and they are rather high. They wouldn't do that though. I'll find a dealer eventually willing to take that "risk" for me...
Forgive me, but what's the tpms?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

2008 F-350 Lariat 4X4 CCSB

Trigger01 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 07-24-2013, 06:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 213
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trigger01 View Post
Forgive me, but what's the tpms?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Tire pressure monitoring system

Take a stand today, join your local Fire Department or First Responder/Rescue team. We need all the help we can find!
Ken2012f350 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome