Exhaust filter percentage always at 0% - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General 6.7 Discussion General 6.7 Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2013, 03:30 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exhaust filter percentage always at 0%

Hello ive been monitoring the exhaust filter percent and I haven't seen it change from zero. I pulled drove 170 miles today in all sorts of conditions and it stayed at 0 all day. I know ive seen it move before so its got me thinking. Anyone else have this problem?

Truck is '12 regular cab DRW...pulls like a champ! The 6.7 puts the 6.4 to shame (stock)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-20-2013, 03:39 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
pick of said truck and its load today.

Exhaust filter percentage always at 0%-img_4127.jpg

Exhaust filter percentage always at 0%-img_4232.jpg
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-20-2013, 04:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,491
Thanks: 4
Thanked 72 Times in 67 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
drive it and enjoy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-20-2013, 05:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ogden, UT
Posts: 2,481
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If your working it hard enough, and the EGT's are high enough, your truck does a passive regen, and burns soot without telling you. That could explain it.

You still have a DPF right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-21-2013, 06:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 173
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What are you monitoring it with?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-21-2013, 07:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 550
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A couple of the PIDs on the Edge Insight don't work or only show values at start up. Watch the Soot % it works.

As stated, Towing where you have EGTs above 572 will perform a passive regen and you will actually see the Soot % drop.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-22-2013, 07:23 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Truck is completely stock with 4500 miles. I monitor it with the display on the speedometer. (it doesnt have the bigger lcd screen, xl package) Just hit info on the steering wheel and it cycles through.

I understand about the passive regeneration but I did idle the truck for a good half hr and the percentage never changed. In the past I have monitored the % and it jumped around quite a bit. I just dont see how it could always be at 0% unless a sensor is messed up or its always cleaning exhaust filter (my real concern)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-22-2013, 07:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 173
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have the LCD screen and there is no way to monitor soot
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-22-2013, 07:46 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsxr1300 View Post
I have the LCD screen and there is no way to monitor soot
Really? I ordered it with the OCR (operator command regeneration) option, maybe is has something to do with that? I will take a pic and show what it looks like.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-22-2013, 12:44 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Abilene
Posts: 170
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by loubrock72 View Post
Really? I ordered it with the OCR (operator command regeneration) option, maybe is has something to do with that? I will take a pic and show what it looks like.
that must be it because i dont have that option on my screen either. it only tells me if the fluid is ok or under half.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors