Amp Draw - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General 6.7 Discussion General 6.7 Discussion

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 09-06-2012, 11:46 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Amp Draw

I have a 2012 F350 6.7 Diesel. Anyone know what the amp draw is on the block heater? Also, does heater draw continuously or does it have a thermostat that cycles it? Thank you.
dothestroke989 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-07-2012, 04:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
F350SD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Albany
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I went out this morning to check after I read your post. Not a very cold start to the day but, using a Kill A Watt unit, I see a pretty consistent 7.75 amp draw when I plug the block heater in. My 6.0 used to draw @11 amps to get up to temp. I use a timer during the winter which turns the heater on 2 hours before I leave for work so it doesn't run all night long - not sure if it cycles 'on-off' when it finally warms up.

You will occasionally find threads in the RV forums where somebody plugged their unit in during the late fall before winterizing and storage and then forgot to unplug it. When springtime rolls around and they go to retrieve the RV from the storage facility they are presented with an $800 electric bill....

2015 F450 Platinum (me happy)
Montana 3625RE 5th wheel (wife happy)
USMC 89-93 / Wounded Warrior Project supporter
F350SD is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-07-2012, 05:33 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thank you for your response F350SD. I didn't figure it would draw too much since the owners manual says you can use a 16ga extension cord. I also have heard horror stories of owners leaving them plugged in and finding a huge power bill. Thanks again for your time and also to your service to our country.
dothestroke989 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome