Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Before I consider buying a 6.4??

20K views 50 replies 10 participants last post by  racerx250 
#1 ·
Hey guys I'm brand new to powerstroke forms and signed up because I'm thinking about getting a 6.4 or maybe a 6.7, but looking at a 6.4 seriously right now. I found a 2008 with the special "badlander" package. Really like the truck, and it's in my price range. The mileage is 174,000 but thats about almost every trucks mileage in my price range ha but it doesn't bother me. It has an H&S turner but the ad doesn't say which kind. If it's not the mini max or black max I'll be either getting one or an sct. Also the dpf has been deleted. I haven't been able to see the truck in person but when I do I'll check around the radiator to make sure there isn't any residue or sign of coolant. Also if I do decide to buy it id be putting on the egr/ egr coolant delet kit from flow pro. Here's the link to make sure it's everything I need to completely get ride of the egr problems because I don't even want the slightest chance of it getting coolant into the motor.

http://performancetruckproducts.com...er-delete-08-10-powerstroke-6-4l#ReviewHeader

I'm on the fence about this because I had a 2006 6.0 and it was a complete nightmare but I loved the power when it was up and running. So I just wanna hear what yall think about this truck before I give it anymore thought. Thanks for any info.

Here's the link to the ad for the truck:

http://www.cordovacars.com/2008-For...l-Lift-35s-Programmer-Tennessee-38016/5466912

See less See more
#2 ·
You will get a few good in depth responses to really help you out, but I will say this, budget a minimum 5k over what you are going to spend on the truck.

Sure, not every truck will have issues, but I can guarantee you will need to put money into something. Especially tuned at 174k, and being an 08