Any 500,000+/- 6.4's ?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2014, 07:19 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Any 500,000+/- 6.4's ??

I am looking for some genuine input. I have a 2000 7.3 cc sb auto srw 4x4 with 238,000. It has absolutely been meticulously maintained and in perfect running order. I haul campers for a living and need a long box. Should I stay with a 7.3 and wait for a long box dually or switch to a 6.4 dually?

Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-28-2014, 02:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 13 reviews
6.4 has some issues when left stock. if you can find one with low miles and delete the emissions equipment they are great trucks. if left stock you will have more power than the 7.3 but alot more headaches and expensive break downs most likely if your using it to haul daily. one thing you have to worry about is DOT. if your hauling around your area you wont have an issue if you dont have emission inspections but if your traveling around the country you may run into problems with deletes if someone wants to hassle you
Old 03-28-2014, 02:31 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
just curious why do you "need" a long bed? I tow 5th wheel and GN trailers and I run a 7ft bed. I'd stay with your 7.3....
Old 03-28-2014, 02:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

500k in 6 years is a TON of miles....!!
Old 03-31-2014, 05:13 AM

thanks for the heads up on the out of state DOT inspections.
Old 03-31-2014, 05:17 AM