How i primed the 6.4 fuel system - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2014, 01:21 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How i primed the 6.4 fuel system

My idea may already be on the forum, but as a dodge tech, I was not familiar with the 6.4 fuel system. The truck I worked on was a 2008 f450 6.4. The truck was throwing the water in fuel light. I tried to simply pull the lever and drain it but after draining it 10 times, I constantly saw mold coming out of the valve. I got both new fuel filters (frame mount and high mount filters). I do fuel filters on the cummins all the time, and boy was I in for a task after doing the powerstroke. I ended up having to remove the filter/pump housing, take it apart and clean it out. It was inreal how much mold was growing in there. Previous owner obviously has not changed the filter in a long time. I was not aware of the procedure everyone online goes by. Anywho, I did them both at the same time. Therefor all lines were dry.

After 3 hours on trying to prime the system, I got desperate and decided to hook air into the filler cap and forced the fuel up top (with the fuel pump running) and it FINALLY primed. The first time I hooked air, I had the engine mount fuel filter out and pushed air in the fuel tank until it filled the bowl. Then I put the new filter in and cracked the banjo bolt on the fuel fitting and hit it with air again until a solid stream of fuel came out. About 10 seconds of turning the engine over, it finally crank up and ran. No sputtering, no hesitation; full power.

Im sure someone here will tell me hooking air to the tank is a very bad idea, and it might be. But as desperation came, it was the only thing that worked for me. Maybe it will help someone out in the future
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-10-2014, 01:24 PM