Compression vs. Boost - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By drewactual

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2014, 07:09 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Compression vs. Boost

I am no engineer, but I was thinking about the operation of these 6.4 or really any turbo/supercharged internal combustion engine. My question for any of you is my 6.4L/390 CID has a compression ration of 17.5:1, if my turbo is producing 20 pounds of boost does that raise the compression ration? Or I am thinking about it in the wrong terms?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-10-2014, 08:18 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Compression ratio stays the same.

A turbo compresses more air into the chamber. Inject more fuel then you have more power.
Old 03-10-2014, 08:53 AM

respectfully, I disagree a titch Capt, by no means completely do I disagree, but just a little...

the rate of compression is 17.5:1.. the 'pressure' of compression varies hugely depending on the density of what you're compressing (in this case fuel and air, one which is compressible one which isn't)..

cylinder pressures and compression ratio's are tricky... there are levels of under pressure air that change cylinder pressures, there are valve events that alter both compression ratio and pressures, and amount of fuel present that alter the volume of the cylinder which has dramatic affect on both compression and pressure.

boost is better described as 'dynamic displacement'....