Tire Pressure Monitor Fault - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 02-07-2014, 12:59 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Holly Ridge,NC
Posts: 139
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tire Pressure Monitor Fault

I have an 08 f250 job 3. Had 18" king ranch wheels. Purchased the stock 08 20's. I now have a "Tire Pressure Monitor Fault" message in display. I hate to tear the tire down to see if it has sensor. Any other ways to tell if the sensors are in the tire. Do I need to do some kind of reset?

----2012 F250 Lariat FX4


----2008 F250 King Ranch, Job 3, S&B CAI, H&S Mini Maxx, 5" DP back Diamond Eye....GONE... R.I.P

----2001 F250 7.3L, Superchips Flashpaq, 5" MBRP TurboBack, AFE Stage II, 35"x 12.50 BFG A/T KO,, Mickey Thompson 16.5 Classic II's, 2.5 Leveling kit, AutoMeter A- Pillar Gauge pod, Boost, Tranny, EGTs. Line-X Liner.....SOLD
JLElectric is offline  
post #2 of 7 Old 02-09-2014, 02:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
bentstroke_02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lenexa
Posts: 1,146
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
take it to a tire shop and they can tell you

Jeremiah


Horsepower is like sex, once you get it you can't get enough of it

2008 6.4 with 200k and counting

5" FLO-PRO exhaust W/6" tip
AFE stage 2 CAI
Spartan tuner
PTP EGR Delete
coolant filter
CCV Mod
leveling kit
4in rear Blocks
20's W/35's
bentstroke_02 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-09-2014, 03:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Beautiful BC
Posts: 534
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If they came from an early 08 they might not have any sensors. My Job doesn't have TPMS.

1991 Ranger - 38" TSL's, 3 link, One tons, 5.38s on King air shocks....under construction.
1997 Ranger - reg cab flare side, 3.0L, M5OD-R1, 4x4, 31x10.50r15 MT's.
2008 F350 - Crewcab short bed, 6.4L diesel, H&S XRT Pro, AFE DOC/DPF delete
1972 Mustang Coupe - 302, c4, 9", 4.11's locked.
WildStyle is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 02-09-2014, 03:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
travisH3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,331
Thanks: 6
Thanked 41 Times in 40 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
pm me and i will rent ya my h&s tpms module to turn off the light if your interested, hooks up to your H&S tuner and you can shut the system off or change the pressure they look for but in your case you want to just turn it off. if not you need to get the sensors paired to the truck or like they said it may not have them inside.

T-rav
2010 F350 6.4-
s467 MPD single kit, H&S Jesse Byall tuning, No limit IC piping and intake,mishimoto intercooler, MPD billet CCV/oil filler, FASS with sump, SOTA A.W.O.L. polished wheels, toyo rt tires, RED Newton traction bars, oem projector retrofit and a bunch of LED lights LOL

Holderdown Performance #teamHDP

OUR FLEET: 2015 f450, 2014 Platinum F350, 2012 F450 6.7, 2010 F350 6.4, 2005 F350 6.0, 04 F450 6.0
travisH3 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-11-2014, 03:13 PM
mpo
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
As far as determining if there are sensors in there, yeah I guess a tire store might have some way to figure that out (maybe by just taking the tire off the rim).

I can tell you what I know:

1) There are two different kinds of sensors that Ford uses and they are not compatible. Even the dealer here did not seem to know about that, and they were the ones who put in the wrong kind... They had to contact the Ford tech center to find that out.

2) Even if you have the correct kind, they need to be "set" to the location on the truck. So if you rotate the tires then you have to use a reset tool. At least this is what the manual says about it.

Good luck!
mpo is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-24-2014, 04:18 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: kentucky
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
seems to be true I rotated tires and am having this issue as well
4wheeldady is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-25-2014, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 41
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpo View Post
As far as determining if there are sensors in there, yeah I guess a tire store might have some way to figure that out (maybe by just taking the tire off the rim).

I can tell you what I know:

1) There are two different kinds of sensors that Ford uses and they are not compatible. Even the dealer here did not seem to know about that, and they were the ones who put in the wrong kind... They had to contact the Ford tech center to find that out.

2) Even if you have the correct kind, they need to be "set" to the location on the truck. So if you rotate the tires then you have to use a reset tool. At least this is what the manual says about it.

Good luck!
Does your truck show which tire is low or show the exact pressure? Mine is a job 3 '08 and only shows a fault not an exact pressure or tire. My wife's '05 Tahoe will show the exact pressure and in which tire.
Ladder22 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome