Tire Pressure Monitor Fault - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2014, 12:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Holly Ridge,NC
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tire Pressure Monitor Fault

I have an 08 f250 job 3. Had 18" king ranch wheels. Purchased the stock 08 20's. I now have a "Tire Pressure Monitor Fault" message in display. I hate to tear the tire down to see if it has sensor. Any other ways to tell if the sensors are in the tire. Do I need to do some kind of reset?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-09-2014, 02:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lenexa
Posts: 1,141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
take it to a tire shop and they can tell you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-09-2014, 03:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Beautiful BC
Posts: 534
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If they came from an early 08 they might not have any sensors. My Job doesn't have TPMS.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-09-2014, 03:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,228
Thanks: 6
Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
pm me and i will rent ya my h&s tpms module to turn off the light if your interested, hooks up to your H&S tuner and you can shut the system off or change the pressure they look for but in your case you want to just turn it off. if not you need to get the sensors paired to the truck or like they said it may not have them inside.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-11-2014, 03:13 PM
mpo mpo is offline
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
As far as determining if there are sensors in there, yeah I guess a tire store might have some way to figure that out (maybe by just taking the tire off the rim).

I can tell you what I know:

1) There are two different kinds of sensors that Ford uses and they are not compatible. Even the dealer here did not seem to know about that, and they were the ones who put in the wrong kind... They had to contact the Ford tech center to find that out.

2) Even if you have the correct kind, they need to be "set" to the location on the truck. So if you rotate the tires then you have to use a reset tool. At least this is what the manual says about it.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-24-2014, 04:18 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: kentucky
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
seems to be true I rotated tires and am having this issue as well
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-25-2014, 12:21 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 39
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpo View Post
As far as determining if there are sensors in there, yeah I guess a tire store might have some way to figure that out (maybe by just taking the tire off the rim).

I can tell you what I know:

1) There are two different kinds of sensors that Ford uses and they are not compatible. Even the dealer here did not seem to know about that, and they were the ones who put in the wrong kind... They had to contact the Ford tech center to find that out.

2) Even if you have the correct kind, they need to be "set" to the location on the truck. So if you rotate the tires then you have to use a reset tool. At least this is what the manual says about it.

Good luck!
Does your truck show which tire is low or show the exact pressure? Mine is a job 3 '08 and only shows a fault not an exact pressure or tire. My wife's '05 Tahoe will show the exact pressure and in which tire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors