New to me 6.4 -- Should I warranty or do the mods? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2013, 02:04 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New to me 6.4 -- Should I warranty or do the mods?

Hi all. I'm mostly a lurker and have read tons about this truck and the 7.3, of which I've had three. I'm new to the 6.4 and I have read completely the bullet-proofing post (great info) and about 30 or so other threads related to this topic.

My question is this. Should I buy a $2,000 warranty (bumper to bumper 5 years/100K miles) or put $2,000 into upgrades/mods.

History: I just bought a Texas truck that is bone stock except for the B&W turnover in the bed. All emissions equipment still on it. 171,000 miles and no indications of any trouble. One owner, all services performed faithfully, only bulletin performed was the radiator. Vast majority of miles were obviously Texas highway miles.

My predicament is I intend to do some long-term travelling with this as my only transportation for the better part of a year. I will be pulling a 15k+ fifth wheel.

I like the idea of a warranty (service contract) because it covers me for unforeseen trouble. However, I can see *any* warranty company trying to weasel out of a repair bill because of "pre-existing" conditions that I have no way of knowing about. I also like the warranty idea because I won't have facilities to do my own work.