Vacuum line on bottom of degas bottle - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 01-29-2013, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Inver Grove Heights
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Vacuum line on bottom of degas bottle

Can someone tell me what this is for and how necessary it is?
Fussgus is offline  
post #2 of 10 Old 01-29-2013, 02:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Clayton1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fort St John, BC
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
4x4 auto system. I broke that line somewhere down there when I did my egr delete and I have to put hubs in manual now til I fix it.

2008 Job 3, F350, 6.4/drw/lariat/CC/LB, Spartan, Viper 5902, Line-X, Flo-pro egr delete, aFe stage 2 proguard 7, MBRP Cool Duals/downpipe/CAC, CCV mod, coolant filter PMF 7" 4link, Rigid Dually fogs, Royalty Core 3pc, Crown brake lines, Mishimoto Rad
6.4 Rebuild May/2015, BD manifolds+Uppipes, chromoly rods, rockers,lifters, hd springs
Monstir 20", 37x12.50 ATZ P3
1999 Corvette Cpe
Clayton1985 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-29-2013, 03:18 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Inver Grove Heights
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Why does there need to be a vacuum line to the bottom of the degas bottle that is my question. I ask that because there is nothing at the bottom so why make a vacuum line go there? Just seems weird but there has to be a good reason.
Fussgus is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-29-2013, 03:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Clayton1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fort St John, BC
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah I dunno, only thing Im aware of that is vacuum operated is the auto hubs..and those stupid little, brittle lines are everywhere!!

2008 Job 3, F350, 6.4/drw/lariat/CC/LB, Spartan, Viper 5902, Line-X, Flo-pro egr delete, aFe stage 2 proguard 7, MBRP Cool Duals/downpipe/CAC, CCV mod, coolant filter PMF 7" 4link, Rigid Dually fogs, Royalty Core 3pc, Crown brake lines, Mishimoto Rad
6.4 Rebuild May/2015, BD manifolds+Uppipes, chromoly rods, rockers,lifters, hd springs
Monstir 20", 37x12.50 ATZ P3
1999 Corvette Cpe
Clayton1985 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-29-2013, 03:48 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Inver Grove Heights
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I bought some fancy LED lights for my truck and they need Load resistors so I don't get hyper flashing and they needed to be mounted close to the bulb because the wires are super short. So I drilled a hole that I thought I had plenty of space for and put a hole in my battery and I thought the acid went to the bottom so i drilled a hole to let the liquid drain and nothing came out and then I drilled another hole in the middle to mount the resistor and right around that time the pump started running non-stop and I had no idea why. Today I put 2 and 2 together after wondering why my 4WD wasn't working and realizing the vacuum line went into the bottom. So I plugged up the holes and sure enough everything works again. So luckily my lines are in tact.
Fussgus is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-29-2013, 03:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Clayton1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fort St John, BC
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dang man!! Ive just been to lazy to try and find where my line is cracked/broke and so I just unplugged that annoying vacuum pump, been well over a year now.

2008 Job 3, F350, 6.4/drw/lariat/CC/LB, Spartan, Viper 5902, Line-X, Flo-pro egr delete, aFe stage 2 proguard 7, MBRP Cool Duals/downpipe/CAC, CCV mod, coolant filter PMF 7" 4link, Rigid Dually fogs, Royalty Core 3pc, Crown brake lines, Mishimoto Rad
6.4 Rebuild May/2015, BD manifolds+Uppipes, chromoly rods, rockers,lifters, hd springs
Monstir 20", 37x12.50 ATZ P3
1999 Corvette Cpe
Clayton1985 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-29-2013, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Inver Grove Heights
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah... I'm retarded.
Fussgus is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-30-2013, 05:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
K1LLsW1TchEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't have the vacuum lines, my transfer case shifter is on the floor


2@@8 F250 FX4 Supercab
SCT Livewire w/IDP's Tunes
S&B Cold Air Intake
Rudy's EGR Delete w/FloTech Elbow
33" Nitto Terra Grapplers
MBRP 4"Exhaust/5" Tip and Hollowed DPF
Bilstein Shocks
Kicker Hide-Away Sub
Drilled and Slotted Rotors

Rides:
2008 F250 FX4
2005 Mazda 6
2004 F150 STX
2007 Nissan Maxima SE
Coming soon: VW GTI
K1LLsW1TchEd is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-30-2013, 05:18 AM
Fueling M.A.D. Everywhere
 
CountryAggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rockwall, TX
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 47 Times in 29 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Vacuum line on bottom of degas bottle

Floor board shifters for the win!

My vacuum line came out during the EGR delete. I don't have a button in the dash, so I don't need no stinking vacuum lines


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
CountryAggie is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-30-2013, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Inver Grove Heights
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You guys with the floor shift can still shift on the fly right? I don't see why it would be any different having to do it manually instead. Just curious.
Fussgus is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome