Vacuum line on bottom of degas bottle - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2013, 02:18 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Inver Grove Heights
Posts: 317
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Vacuum line on bottom of degas bottle

Can someone tell me what this is for and how necessary it is?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-29-2013, 02:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fort St John, BC
Posts: 1,651
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
4x4 auto system. I broke that line somewhere down there when I did my egr delete and I have to put hubs in manual now til I fix it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-29-2013, 03:18 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Inver Grove Heights
Posts: 317
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Why does there need to be a vacuum line to the bottom of the degas bottle that is my question. I ask that because there is nothing at the bottom so why make a vacuum line go there? Just seems weird but there has to be a good reason.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-29-2013, 03:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fort St John, BC
Posts: 1,651
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah I dunno, only thing Im aware of that is vacuum operated is the auto hubs..and those stupid little, brittle lines are everywhere!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-29-2013, 03:48 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Inver Grove Heights
Posts: 317
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I bought some fancy LED lights for my truck and they need Load resistors so I don't get hyper flashing and they needed to be mounted close to the bulb because the wires are super short. So I drilled a hole that I thought I had plenty of space for and put a hole in my battery and I thought the acid went to the bottom so i drilled a hole to let the liquid drain and nothing came out and then I drilled another hole in the middle to mount the resistor and right around that time the pump started running non-stop and I had no idea why. Today I put 2 and 2 together after wondering why my 4WD wasn't working and realizing the vacuum line went into the bottom. So I plugged up the holes and sure enough everything works again. So luckily my lines are in tact.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-29-2013, 03:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fort St John, BC
Posts: 1,651
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dang man!! Ive just been to lazy to try and find where my line is cracked/broke and so I just unplugged that annoying vacuum pump, been well over a year now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-29-2013, 04:04 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Inver Grove Heights
Posts: 317
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah... I'm retarded.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-30-2013, 05:08 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 400
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't have the vacuum lines, my transfer case shifter is on the floor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-30-2013, 05:18 AM
Fueling M.A.D. Everywhere
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rockwall, TX
Posts: 1,860
Thanks: 4
Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Vacuum line on bottom of degas bottle

Floor board shifters for the win!

My vacuum line came out during the EGR delete. I don't have a button in the dash, so I don't need no stinking vacuum lines


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-30-2013, 01:08 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Inver Grove Heights
Posts: 317
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You guys with the floor shift can still shift on the fly right? I don't see why it would be any different having to do it manually instead. Just curious.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors