High idle problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2012, 07:14 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
High idle problem

Ok, so i went to hook up my high idle to the pto today and easily found each bundle of wires. But all the switches already had something plugged into the cable. I have 3 sets of 2 kc lights on my truck running off of up fitters 1,2,3 and I have an h&s minimax. When I hit up fitter 4 it doesn't do anything but something's plugged into it...I have very little to no experience with wiring and any info is welcome,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-14-2012, 07:22 PM
Fueling M.A.D. Everywhere
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rockwall, TX
Posts: 1,860
Thanks: 4
Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I would suggest finding the Aux 4 wire and see where it attaches to, take a picture and post it. Pictures help a ton.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-14-2012, 07:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinkweed14 View Post
Ok, so i went to hook up my high idle to the pto today and easily found each bundle of wires. But all the switches already had something plugged into the cable. I have 3 sets of 2 kc lights on my truck running off of up fitters 1,2,3 and I have an h&s minimax. When I hit up fitter 4 it doesn't do anything but something's plugged into it...I have very little to no experience with wiring and any info is welcome,
How do you know something's plugged into it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-14-2012, 08:25 PM
Yeah it's a Turbo Diesel
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,306
Thanks: 32
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Trace the wire that is connected to upfitter #4.. Then you'll know what's up


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-15-2012, 10:28 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 2,065
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to blackcloud2k Send a message via Yahoo to blackcloud2k
Also you have to have the parking brake set for it to work once you figure out your wiring.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors