4wd confusing to me help please!!!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 10-04-2012, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
4wd confusing to me help please!!!!!

Okay so all this 4wd, on the fly stuff. What is the definition of all This stuff. Do I have to go into neutral to put it 4wd even if it is "on the fly"? do I have to get out and lock the hubs even if there set to auto? In 4wd do all 4 tires have power going to them?
Stinkweed14 is offline  
post #2 of 17 Old 10-04-2012, 02:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Inver Grove Heights
Posts: 336
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinkweed14 View Post
Okay so all this 4wd, on the fly stuff. What is the definition of all This stuff. Do I have to go into neutral to put it 4wd even if it is "on the fly"? do I have to get out and lock the hubs even if there set to auto? In 4wd do all 4 tires have power going to them?
It wouldn't be called shift on the fly if you had to stop and put the truck in neutral every time you wanted to go into 4wd. You only have to lock the hubs when going into 4wd low. Yes all tires have power.
Fussgus is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 10-04-2012, 03:13 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fussgus View Post
It wouldn't be called shift on the fly if you had to stop and put the truck in neutral every time you wanted to go into 4wd. You only have to lock the hubs when going into 4wd low. Yes all tires have power.
Thankyou. I knew it was very simple but I always make it harder than it is lol
Stinkweed14 is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 10-04-2012, 04:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
kevinah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 289
Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fussgus View Post
It wouldn't be called shift on the fly if you had to stop and put the truck in neutral every time you wanted to go into 4wd. You only have to lock the hubs when going into 4wd low. Yes all tires have power.
Not sure about locking in 4 low. I'm in low often and have never turned the hubs.


Sent from my iPhone using AG Free
kevinah is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 10-04-2012, 05:32 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Kenjamin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Kamloops
Posts: 114
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
When you put it in 4wd it should turn the hubs for you, you can hear them turn when you turn the switch. Im pretty sure your just supposed to make sure your not going over 80km/h when your switching.

2008 F-350 Harley Davidson Edition








- S&B Cold Air Intake
- Vista-Pro Radiator (Lifetime Warranty)
- H&S Mini Maxx Tuner

- Custom BLACK Ford Oval Emblems
- MBRP 4" Downpipe Back DPF/CAT Bungless Delete With Muffler, Stock Tip
- MBRP 3" Intercooler Pipe
- EGR Deleter Kit With Elbow
- Sinister Coolant Filtration Kit
Kenjamin is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 10-04-2012, 05:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Inver Grove Heights
Posts: 336
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenjamin View Post
When you put it in 4wd it should turn the hubs for you, you can hear them turn when you turn the switch. Im pretty sure your just supposed to make sure your not going over 80km/h when your switching.
That's what it was! Limit your speed thank you!
Fussgus is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 10-04-2012, 06:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Clayton1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fort St John, BC
Posts: 1,757
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You only have to get out and turn hubs if you have no vacuum. I try to be under 50km/hr when going in/out of 4hi. You have to be stopped to engage 4lo.

2008 Job 3, F350, 6.4/drw/lariat/CC/LB, Spartan, Viper 5902, Line-X, Flo-pro egr delete, aFe stage 2 proguard 7, MBRP Cool Duals/downpipe/CAC, CCV mod, coolant filter PMF 7" 4link, Rigid Dually fogs, Royalty Core 3pc, Crown brake lines, Mishimoto Rad
6.4 Rebuild May/2015, BD manifolds+Uppipes, chromoly rods, rockers,lifters, hd springs
Monstir 20", 37x12.50 ATZ P3
1999 Corvette Cpe
Clayton1985 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 10-04-2012, 06:51 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clayton1985 View Post
You only have to get out and turn hubs if you have no vacuum. I try to be under 50km/hr when going in/out of 4hi. You have to be stopped to engage 4lo.
Does a 2008 6.4 king ranch have a vacuum
Stinkweed14 is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 10-04-2012, 08:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cool

Yes,4 low you need to pause in neutral, the dash lite will stop flashing
Pete
frusteri4 is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 10-04-2012, 08:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Clayton1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fort St John, BC
Posts: 1,757
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinkweed14 View Post
Does a 2008 6.4 king ranch have a vacuum
Sure does, its the little thing on top your under hood fuse box. Pull the power plug out and try your 4x4 dash switch.

2008 Job 3, F350, 6.4/drw/lariat/CC/LB, Spartan, Viper 5902, Line-X, Flo-pro egr delete, aFe stage 2 proguard 7, MBRP Cool Duals/downpipe/CAC, CCV mod, coolant filter PMF 7" 4link, Rigid Dually fogs, Royalty Core 3pc, Crown brake lines, Mishimoto Rad
6.4 Rebuild May/2015, BD manifolds+Uppipes, chromoly rods, rockers,lifters, hd springs
Monstir 20", 37x12.50 ATZ P3
1999 Corvette Cpe
Clayton1985 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome