Adding oil temp gauge, where to put sensor? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2012, 06:27 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bakersfield,CA
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Adding oil temp gauge, where to put sensor?

I'm thinking of adding an oil and coolant temp gauge in a pillar mount. Can any of the tech's out there tell me where the best as well as easiest place would be to install the sensors? Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-03-2012, 06:34 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,076
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You can run your ECT from a drain plug. It's underneath, backside, driverside. It's just a block drain plug. Your EOT can run from a billet oil filter cap that has been tapped for a sending unit or I believe the oil cooler or oil sending unit
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-03-2012, 06:35 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 3,952
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I have mine installed in a billet oil filter cap.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-03-2012, 06:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bakersfield,CA
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Wow, thank you both for the quick response and good info.

Term, where did you get the billet oil cap? I find some for the 6.0 but not saying for the 6.4. Are they the same? Thanks

Last edited by ol38y; 06-03-2012 at 06:52 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-03-2012, 07:18 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 640
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
ol38y , yes , the oil cap does fit 6.0 and 6.4 , but you should just be causious when buying the billet cap , Just make sure its compatiable with the motorcraft/racor filters (or the proper set up inside ,so the filter will clip in properly)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-03-2012, 07:28 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bakersfield,CA
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks d23, Rudy's has them online. I'll call them in the am. I see Amsoil has them as well. I may call them too. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-03-2012, 07:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: KINGSLAND
Posts: 1,348
Thanks: 8
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sure, you can buy an H&S Mini Maxx and have your temps displayed in one convenient location.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-03-2012, 07:47 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Saint Cloud, WI
Posts: 4,455
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I drove a truck with the eot in the filter cap. The reading was 30 to 40 degrees lower than the scanner was reading. If I was installing one I would be looking into a setup such as the edge cts or a scan-gauge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-03-2012, 07:49 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bakersfield,CA
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUFFSTUFF View Post
Sure, you can buy an H&S Mini Maxx and have your temps displayed in one convenient location.
I have a Spartan. It may seem odd but, I'm looking for a way to show FOMOCO I have oil temp issues without using the tuner. I don't figure they would appreciate it... LOL If I can spend a few hundred here to save thousands on oil cooler replacement I figure I'm money ahead...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-03-2012, 07:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bakersfield,CA
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by forddieseldoctor View Post
I drove a truck with the eot in the filter cap. The reading was 30 to 40 degrees lower than the scanner was reading. If I was installing one I would be looking into a setup such as the edge cts or a scan-gauge.
That's interesting. Did you ever find a reason for the temp differences?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors