To buy or not to buy... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2012, 08:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
To buy or not to buy...

Im a diesel noob, so be kind...
Im looking for a f-250-350 for daily driving, towing a bass boat and occasionally a 28' 5th wheel no farther than 8 hours.

But my main problem is $money$, I dont want to spend over 15K. So im limited to either the 6.ohhh or a 7.3 that all have high miles or the gas guzzling V-10.

That was until I happened to find a 2008 6.4 with 174k miles on it for $15k. But it looks like it was ridden hard and put away wet. The interior looks pretty clean, but the inside of the bed is really dented up and it has a turn-over ball installed. Would you guys even suggest buying it? It is a #1 also...02/07

Any info and opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Dustin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-14-2012, 04:14 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Old 04-14-2012, 04:20 AM

Welcome to the org

I think you would be well advised to pass on that truck and continue shopping...just my .02.
Old 04-14-2012, 10:39 AM

id stay away from it especially if it still has the dpf in place your just taking a big chance
Old 04-14-2012, 01:04 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Thanks for the replies.

The thing I dont get is diesels are supposed to last longer than gas motors, but it seems like they last the same amount of miles now and need to be maintained like a Lamborghini. I suppose this is due to the EPA and other emissions bs?...

But yeah. Im going to take my time and look for a 6.4 that has been treated better and I know the history of it.
Old 04-14-2012, 01:16 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by crankn101 View Post
Thanks for the replies.