new guy questions just curious - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2012, 02:05 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
new guy questions just curious

hey y'all just had some questions. for clarification, i'm a wyotech student at the moment. im graduating very soon. im a jeep guy, but i was raised ford. my 89 wrangler got totaled a few months back and ill be looking into a new ride when i get home and start work. ill be driving an hour minimum to work and back, so i need decent mpg's. i decided i want a powerstroke. always have but never had the money. i cant afford a new 6.7, but i dont want a 6.0 or older, so im stuck with the 6.4. my instructors have told me about some of the common issues with them, head issues with gaskets and such, variable vane turbo issues as well. i figured this would be the best place to ask if i would be making a mistake buying a 6.4 powerstroke, and if i do buy one, what might i be looking at for possible short term issues if any. all help would be awesome, and please dont hold back, i need to hear what i need to hear. thanks yall
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-09-2012, 03:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Head gasket issues have not been with the 6.4, the 6.0 had the gasket and stud problems. MPGs will be your biggest issue, however deleting emissions components from the truck both increase economy and help prolong the life of the 6.4. A DPF delete and a tuner are a must for economy, A tuner will also shut down the EGR in most situations but deleting the EGR is not a bad idea either. If you are planning on staying around the +300 hp threshold stock heads/gaskets and studs are fine. The transmission has also proved to hold up rather well with these tunes although it would be the next thing I look at.