Reliability of 2010 6.4 with deletes and average cost to do them? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2012, 04:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Post Reliability of 2010 6.4 with deletes and average cost to do them?

Hello, I am new to powerstroke forum as I have always had ford gassers. This spring I will be upgrading to a diesel. Everyone is telling me to look towards duramax/cummins but i just cant turn my back on the chassis and design of Ford in general. I understand that with a dpf delete, and egr delete these engines can be quite reliable???? And if i had the egr delete professionally installed how much would i be looking at cost wise with a 6.4? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Larry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-12-2012, 05:15 PM
IBEW Journeyman Lineman

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
My opinion on the 6.4 with dpf/ egr deletes is that they are very reliable. There are ALOT of these trucks on the road and will be for a long time. Not unlike any other vehicle, they are going to break and have things go wrong from time to time. But they are still a great truck and I love my 6.4. It's had 0 problems and is a blast to drive, just rolled over 114k miles. Having an egr delete kit installed would probably run you 5-7 hours labor plus parts. I'm no tech so I'm sure they could give you an exact time on it but mine took around 7 with me taking my time. If you're mechanically inclined you could do it yourself over a weekend easily.
Old 01-12-2012, 06:15 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Polarbear, thanks for the info its always good to hear the good things from actual owners rather then bad from non owners. Your 6.4 is a super clean looking truck!
Old 01-12-2012, 07:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict