synthetic oil or not.. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2012, 09:36 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Smile synthetic oil or not..

Im new to this great machine. '09 F250 with 6.4L stock. owned it about 2 months now and it just turned 45k (oil was changed at 40k at the dealer).

I am looking to get input into the diffent types of oil. I live in Atlanta GA, so the coldest it gets in the winter is in the 20's (very rarely the teens, but I keep the truck in my garage anyway). during the summer it get upwards to 100F. I have always ran Mobil 1 synthetic in all my gas burners but don't know if its worth the money for my diesel. what has everyone out there done???

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-05-2012, 09:56 AM
Serving Our Country!

I change my oil in my 6.0 every 5000 miles. I use synthetic now, but I used dino up to 100,000 miles. After switching my truck runs smoother and quieter. To me it is worth the extra money, but I'm running Shell Rotella T6 not the more expensive Mobil 1. In the long run it doesn't seem to matter too much as to which oil you run. The most important thing to keep up with your oil changes so you have fresh oil in there.
Old 01-05-2012, 10:02 AM
Viking Heavy Diesel

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Its about personal preference. Seems like just as many guys on here run synthetic as run dino. I myself run dino and have no issues.
Old 01-05-2012, 10:40 AM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 5 reviews
I run dino and im on the edge too...
Got 100k on my truck and i dont know what to do
Old 01-05-2012, 11:05 AM
Dont Mess With Texas!

when i hit 100k on my 08, i switched from dino to Rotella 5w-40 full synthetic, and my truck loves it.
Old 01-05-2012, 11:10 AM
Premium Member