Overdrive kit for A - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2011, 04:45 AM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Overdrive kit for '10 F-450 and rear gearing change

I want to change the rear gears in my 450 to 4.10's but some people I talk to say you can't change the rear gears in a 450. I'm not an expert on gearing but it does have a fully tig welded cover on the the back. But I really want an overdrive kit like the gear vendors unit, at cruising speed on the highway it can drop your cruising rpm's by 500-600 which can improve your mpg significantly and make it easier on the truck,and smoother. But the gear vendors kit will only operate properly on a stock truck. Can anyone please help me on what companies make good strong units. My mods are in my signature...whatever you guys can do to help would be greatly appreciated I really need an overdrive kit. My truck is an automatic btw...let me know whatever possible about the overdrive units. Thanks again guys.

-Jeff

Last edited by Torque 6.4 F-450 HD; 12-25-2011 at 04:51 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-25-2011, 04:51 AM
Viking Heavy Diesel

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I have talked to a guy here in town that has a 450 with a gear vender and a DPF delete and tune. He admits he babies the truck and hardly ever runs it in the high settings but it is holding up just fine. Its been on the truck almost since new. As far as the re gearing, it is simple to regear these trucks. Randy's Ring and Pinion makes kits for our trucks and the rear axle is especially easy as it is a third member, meaning everything comes out of the diff as a unit instead of in pieces.
Old 12-25-2011, 05:47 AM
ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!!!!!