Thoughts please... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2011, 07:30 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thoughts please...

I'm looking at getting some more performance out of my 08 but with only 42k on the odometer I don't really want to do something that'll void warrenty. I've thought about an exhaust and chip and what not just not real sure. Plus I'm still pretty new to these new diesels and am not real sure what I can and can't do with out a chip and what kind of gains I'd get. Is it worth doing anything like a straight pipe after the dpf or is that even possible with out a chip? Thanks in advance for any input.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-15-2011, 07:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

If you wanna do exhaust you'll wanna get rid of the DPF and CAT cause that's the cause of a lot of wasted fuel during regen and excessive back pressure. To delete the DPF the regen needs to be tuned out.
You just voided your warranty. Unless you find a dealer who is mod friendly, you'll probably be out of luck.
Old 11-15-2011, 07:53 PM

my first thought was , come back when you are done worrying about your warranty.
Old 11-15-2011, 08:16 PM

That's what I was figuring I was just seeing if I had some options without ditching the dpf guess I'm going to start talking to the dealer
Old 11-15-2011, 08:33 PM

You should have a 5 year/60,000 mile power train warranty. When was the truck purchased. The warranty might be up real soon.
Old 11-16-2011, 01:45 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Feedback Score: -1 reviews
You can always buy my Banks iQ and 6-Gun which are DPF on tuning which is for sale cheap! Shameless plug, yes I know!
Old 11-16-2011, 02:21 AM
Powerstroke Techie