6.4 CPU QUESTION - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2007, 09:13 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: WISCONSIN
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6.4 CPU QUESTION

I WAS TALKING TO A FORD DEALER TECH, AND HE SAID THE SMARTEST THING TO DO , IF YOU WANTED TO CHIP THE 6.4 IS BUY ANOTHER CPU, AND PUT IT IN, THAT WAY IF IT DID BREAK DOWN, YOU COULD PUT THE ORIGINAL CPU BACK , BECAUSE IT WOULD NOT HAVE THE INFO THAT YOU HAD A CHIP IN IT? ANYBODY HERE OF THIS BEFORE
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-30-2007, 09:27 AM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah I suppose that could work as long as you can get one without raising a red flag.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:20 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,565
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEICHIN641 View Post
I WAS TALKING TO A FORD DEALER TECH, AND HE SAID THE SMARTEST THING TO DO , IF YOU WANTED TO CHIP THE 6.4 IS BUY ANOTHER CPU, AND PUT IT IN, THAT WAY IF IT DID BREAK DOWN, YOU COULD PUT THE ORIGINAL CPU BACK , BECAUSE IT WOULD NOT HAVE THE INFO THAT YOU HAD A CHIP IN IT? ANYBODY HERE OF THIS BEFORE
That is a good idea........but any idea what that would cost? I mean if the cat and DPF are over 2500 bucks I could only imagine
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-30-2007, 12:02 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: WISCONSIN
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
IT IS SIX HUNDRED DOLLARS, BUT THE FORD GUY THAT I CALLED SAID THAT IT IS NOT THAT EASY, BECAUSE THAY HAVE TO DO A INHAIL / EXHAIL AS HE CALLED IT, IT IS WHERE THEY COPY THE OLD INFO FROM THE EXISTING PCM, AND PUT IT ON THE NEW ONE, OTHERWISE THE TRUCK WILL NOT RUN, SO I DON'T THINK IT WOULD WORK ANYWAYS
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-30-2007, 12:05 PM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,565
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEICHIN641 View Post
IT IS SIX HUNDRED DOLLARS, BUT THE FORD GUY THAT I CALLED SAID THAT IT IS NOT THAT EASY, BECAUSE THAY HAVE TO DO A INHAIL / EXHAIL AS HE CALLED IT, IT IS WHERE THEY COPY THE OLD INFO FROM THE EXISTING PCM, AND PUT IT ON THE NEW ONE, OTHERWISE THE TRUCK WILL NOT RUN, SO I DON'T THINK IT WOULD WORK ANYWAYS
Yeah I call BS on that one....what do they think we are stupid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-30-2007, 12:05 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Posts: 723
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
They shouldn't have to do an inhale/exhale. Just tell them it was in a wreck and the PCM was smashed. They should be able to order one with the programming on it or program with a WDS or whatever they use now
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-30-2007, 12:17 PM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,565
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsdiesel View Post
They shouldn't have to do an inhale/exhale. Just tell them it was in a wreck and the PCM was smashed. They should be able to order one with the programming on it or program with a WDS or whatever they use now
Exactly....I mean seriously is Ford really going to expect us to believe that every truck runs different?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-30-2007, 05:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 146
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinTurboStroker View Post
Exactly....I mean seriously is Ford really going to expect us to believe that every truck runs different?
Well if it's like the Mustangs then the PATS (passive anti theft system) has to be programmed in the computer otherwise it will not recongize the key and will not start.

Bill
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-30-2007, 05:10 PM
HardLuck Case of the Year
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Catonsville, MD
Posts: 3,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Ditty Send a message via Yahoo to Ditty
Doesn't the PCM record the Trip and Odo too?

From what I've HEARD, the "You chipped your truck" tell-tell is actually a line of code that records something saying the PCM was reset in the last 72 operating hours. So, in theory, you would still get hit at the dealer when you take it in and the ODO is off, and the 'reset' code is stored.

Just a little FYI...though I COULD be wrong.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-31-2007, 07:22 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: WISCONSIN
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
WHEN I CALLED FOR A PRICE ON THE PCM, THEY GAVE ME A LOT OF CRAP, SAYING IT SHOULD BE COVER UNDER WARENTY, THE ONLY WAY I COULD GET A PRICE WAS TO TELL HIM I HAD 97,000 MILES ON THE TRUCK, THEN HE FINALLY GAVE ME A PRICE
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors