A Question About Regen - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2011, 11:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A Question About Regen

Sorry if this is a dumb question that has been asked a million times, but since I'm new to the Powerstroke, I'm still learning about it. From what I can gather, ther regen cycle is basically a self-cleaning function of the DPF when it reaches a certain level of soot build up. How will I know when this is happening and will the check engine light come on just prior to the cycle? Thanks for putting up with a rookie's questions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-01-2011, 12:04 PM

A message will show up on your EVIC saying "Cleaning Exhaust Filter." Shows up for a few seconds and then goes away. However, the regen cycle is still going even when the message is not displayed. In order to find out if it is done, you can do a system check and the last thing it will say is whether you're in regen or not. You will also know when regen is happening when your fuel mileage heads south, and quick.
Old 11-01-2011, 12:16 PM

Thanks! I'll be watching.
Old 11-02-2011, 04:56 AM