Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

How to truck pull a sled

9K views 32 replies 16 participants last post by  DieselFeverDisease 
#1 ·
Truck pulls at the fair tonight, I want to put my 08 in there but I have never done it before. I'm not sure how big the sled is going to be, but i wanted to see if I could get any tips that would be useful. Thanks! :icon_ford:

#3 ·
depending on the track there are lots of variables.

In leu of that heres what I'd do:

Hook up in 4 low, stick it in drive, push the go pedal to the floor.
when it shifts to second, slide the gear selector to 2nd without letting off the throttle.
towards the end, when it starts to slow down, down shift to first without letting off the throttle.
let off the throttle when the flag man flags you down.
have fun.

thats my vast well of knowledge from my single pull :hehe:

#6 ·
Nothing In good condition is going to break... if it breaks it was already on its way out.

#7 ·
to the OP, don't be afraid of breaking anything, these trucks are made to handle abuse and keep on going. its definately alot more fun than you could imagine. just be careful not to get hoooked, then it can become very expensive when you begin to drive further and further to hook to a sled. when i first started pulling, it was only local places (within 20 miles) over time i began to drive 50-60 miles away just to hook to a sled

#8 ·
Thank you for the good response, unfortunately i didnt get it in time and ended up pulling in 4wd high. lol Big Mistake! do not pull in 4 high ever... 40k pound trailer and 237 feet and my tranny is officially destroyed, it was embarrassing to say the least... I'm not doing that anymore.

#20 ·