Which Truck advice - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2011, 06:05 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Which Truck advice

Hello. Sorry for the long post, but it sometimes helps to get "the whole story". I am new to PS but not to Fords (father retired from Ford). Currently have an 02 Expedition now (5.4L).
I have been lurking the forums for my research and want to get some direct advice. I have a Jeep Wrangler I trailer to offroad parks and have recently purchased a 23' boat. The boat is around 6-7k pounds and the Expedition HATES it. Transmission heats up and starts leaking, brakes heat up pretty good when stopping - it just doesn't like pulling it.
I want to go diesel as I would like to get a truck camper so I can go jeeping/boating and camp too. Looking at 1-tons SWD. Nearly everyone I talk to says go 7.3. Well, all the 7.3's I find usually have 200k+ miles and are ready for a tranny rebuild (not that I am against that). I have been told stay far away from the 6.0's although I spoke to a Ford diesel mechanic who told me to just keep up on the maintenance (oil changes) and all should be good. The wife wants a 'newer' vehicle so now we are looking at the 6.4's. I love everything about the look, feel, interior, exterior, integrated brake controller, etc. I am just worried about the engine. I have been reading that gas mileage is lowsy (what are you guys getting - empty/towing?) and there are problems with the DPF regen. I have read the 7.3 gets the best MPG, 6.0 is worse, then 6.4 even worse. I know this is a heavy truck but I don't want to spend all my money at the pump. What should I look for in a used 2008 (if 6.4 is recommended)? Most 2008's I have seen are right at or over 100k (I think the warranty is to 100k which explains why everyone is unloading them). So, let the newbie have it. Thanks in advance.

Dan