Train horn button? Where? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 09-19-2010, 02:25 PM Thread Starter
Emergency Services
 
DUstroker08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Piperton, TN
Posts: 299
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Train horn button? Where?

Anybody with train horns..where'd you guys put your push button? Pics would be appreciated

H&S, Flo-Pro,Memphis, Westin, Recon, Hatchie Bottom

Fayette County Technical Rescue Team
http://technicalrescueteam.com
DUstroker08 is offline  
post #2 of 11 Old 09-19-2010, 02:53 PM
Premium Member
 
Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 4,715
Thanks: 57
Thanked 93 Times in 75 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I tapped into the factory horn wires so I could use the steering wheel button (factory horn button). I use one of my upfitter switches to toggle back and forth between the factory horn and the train horn.
Snake is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 09-21-2010, 08:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
BIG RED BUBBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Peninsula-Bay Area
Posts: 1,458
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
any pics on what it looks like, and when the train horn is actuated does the regular one still sound?
BIG RED BUBBA is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 09-22-2010, 08:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i didnt want it to replace my horn so i put it right behind my blinker. i got the button from auto zone, but it was only a 5A button so i put 25A fuse on it (not that hard, they helped me with the idea but it was too simple) the button is really small and does good/looks good.
btw i wired the horn compressor and button to the radio in the passenger floor board. (again, not hard at all, i was impressed)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	horn button.jpg
Views:	1859
Size:	53.8 KB
ID:	18020   Click image for larger version

Name:	tool box.jpg
Views:	912
Size:	52.4 KB
ID:	18021   Click image for larger version

Name:	tool box 1.jpg
Views:	389
Size:	42.5 KB
ID:	18022  



2008 KING RANCH POWERSTROKE
6" LIFT WITH 37" TOYO MT'S AND 20" XD MONSTERS
4" EXHAUST 6" AFE TIP
S&B INTAKE
TUUUUUNED!!
POKYSTROKEY is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 09-22-2010, 09:01 PM
riddin' high
 
Dasaliac03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: gastonia NC
Posts: 2,878
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Dasaliac03 Send a message via Skype™ to Dasaliac03
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake View Post
I tapped into the factory horn wires so I could use the steering wheel button (factory horn button). I use one of my upfitter switches to toggle back and forth between the factory horn and the train horn.
i did the same!

have a toggle switch to go from factory to my others

SELLING SOME NATHAN K3'S if anyone interested
http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/swa...rns-fs-ft.html


SOLD - '03 7.3, MBRP, 38r, DP F5, HPX, RR, DIY 6637, 05 OEM Harley front, 08 OEM rear & mirrors, 20" Moto Metal, 35" Nitto's

Current - '11 6.7 FX4 Larait, Ready Lift 3.5" Leveling Kit, '13 Larait Wheels
Dasaliac03 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 09-22-2010, 09:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake View Post
I tapped into the factory horn wires so I could use the steering wheel button (factory horn button). I use one of my upfitter switches to toggle back and forth between the factory horn and the train horn.
this is good work!!!! i never thought of that, but i guess thats why were here right.



2008 KING RANCH POWERSTROKE
6" LIFT WITH 37" TOYO MT'S AND 20" XD MONSTERS
4" EXHAUST 6" AFE TIP
S&B INTAKE
TUUUUUNED!!
POKYSTROKEY is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 09-22-2010, 09:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
smotrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Covina, Ca.
Posts: 2,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG RED BUBBA View Post
any pics on what it looks like, and when the train horn is actuated does the regular one still sound?
Yes, when tapping into the standard horn wires, the original horn will still sound when the train horns do. Can't really hear it though.

Shaun

'08 F250 6.4L Lariat 4x4 CC/SRW fully loaded, special ordered
6" Fabtech 2.25 dual shock lift w/18" AR wheels, 35" Toyo AT's
Avic-Z2 Nav/Stereo w/iPod, Bluetooth, XM NavTraffic
(2) Rear headrest mnt DVD entertainment systems
Line-X bedliner
Banks CAI, Dual Exhaust, Six-Gun, Speed Brake & iQ (test vehicle)
Bushwacker Fender Flares
Ravelco Anti Theft Device

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Santorum
We went into a recession in 2008 because of gasoline prices.
smotrs is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 09-23-2010, 05:24 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
johnnyroastbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montgomery County, PA
Posts: 268
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i love the train horn idea..could some of you guys post a link to the exact package you purchased? thanks.

NEW TRUCK!!: 2009 F350 Lariat CC Shortbed, 2.5" leveling kit, 35x12.5 R20 Toyo Mud Terrains,

-STOLEN 8/26/10!!!2006 F350 CC shortbed, 2.5" leveling kit, 295/65/R20 Nitto Trail Grappler M/T's-STOLEN 8/26/10!!!
johnnyroastbeef is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 09-23-2010, 05:34 AM
Premium Member
 
Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 4,715
Thanks: 57
Thanked 93 Times in 75 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Train Horns & Train Horn Kits: Loudest Horns Available


In regards to the factory horn honking -- yes, it still sounds when the train horns are "active," but you'll never hear it. Personally, I like the idea that it still honks. If I'm in an emergency and go to honk the train horns but they don't work for some reason, I at least have something making some noise.
Snake is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 09-23-2010, 05:35 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
O2ShootTheJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 742
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Black switch is for methanol, the red button is for the train horns.

I recently went to a black button, looks much better.


08 F250 CC SB - too much to list

Big Thanks to:
Smokin' Guns Peformance and Accessories
Throttle Junkie Performance Parts
O2ShootTheJ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome