Message "Trailer Brake Module Fault" ?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2010, 06:00 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Message "Trailer Brake Module Fault" ??

Hey guys, question for you regarding the factory integrated trailer brake system. I hooked to a trailer yesterday for the first time since I bought my truck new 2 yrs ago. It was a 2009 18' enclosed tandem axle cargo trailer equipped with brakes, and a standard round connector plug.
All the lights and signal worked fine but, my display on the dash said "trailer brake module fault" all the time, and the braking system did not work. I called the trailer dealer and he had no idea. Once I was done with the trailer and unhooked it, the message stayed on. So now even with the trailer unhooked, the message is there all the time . Owners manual says it could be a truck wiring problem which if so, has been there since day 1. Please let me know if you have run into this before and what you did to resolve it. Thanks in advance for any help and sorry for the long post..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-15-2010, 06:22 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hillsborough, NC
Posts: 1,011
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check the fuses under the hood. I can't remember which one it is, but if you blow it the message will come on even with no trailer hooked up. You may have blown this fuse when the trailer was hooked up (possible bad wire on braking system on trailer).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-15-2010, 08:18 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the tip greasltn, I checked the box under the hood ( joy to get to ), and number 5 fuse is a 30 amp for trailer brake controller. Pulled it out and it tests OK, went through the manual showing the fuse box diagrams and checked everything I could find relating to the trailer brakes and all seems OK so far. Key on, engine off the message is there on the dash all the time. Any other thoughts besides a trip to the dealer?..sure dont want to put my DPF back on just for this...Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-16-2010, 05:48 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hillsborough, NC
Posts: 1,011
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check all 3 connectors on the master cylinder, if one is loose it could also set this message.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-16-2010, 07:40 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
your plug on the truck is corroded. had the same problem with my f450 shortly after i bought it in april. had the plug replaced, fixed the problem.

this after i replaced all the fuses and such without fixing the problem.

mac 'dang midwest winters' gyvr
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-16-2010, 08:13 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks macgyvr for the info!, I think you are correct with the plug problem. Talked to my dealer today and there was a TSB issued from Ford about this problem. The plug has been updated to a better design that resists internal failure. Taking it by them tomorrow to have him plug in and see what he thinks and go from there. Will update again after we learn more
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-18-2010, 05:41 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Took it in, had a code C2800 relating to the brake pressure switch transducer. He did some troubleshooting and said one of the pressure switches is bad on the master cylinder ( bottom center on the master ). They did not have one in stock so it is on order. Will find out next week if it actually fixes the problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-18-2010, 09:42 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by W9GBB View Post
Took it in, had a code C2800 relating to the brake pressure switch transducer. He did some troubleshooting and said one of the pressure switches is bad on the master cylinder ( bottom center on the master ). They did not have one in stock so it is on order. Will find out next week if it actually fixes the problem.
these trucks have so many switches and lights and blah blah blah...

they make it so you can't even work on it yourself...

mac 'good luck i hope that fixes it' gyvr
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-27-2010, 05:29 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OK, Took truck back in today to get the sensor replaced on the bottom of the master cylinder. Code and error message are now gone and all is working as it should. Hope this helps someone out with the C2800 code.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to W9GBB For This Useful Post:
Powerstroke2000 (07-22-2014)
  #10  
Old 08-27-2010, 05:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 2,065
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to blackcloud2k Send a message via Yahoo to blackcloud2k
My truck will give the same warning here and there. Mostly it happens in the winter when Ice builds up on the plug and or if Im towing in the rain. All of my trailer functions still work though. Its all due to as you said the corrosion/water getting in the plug in my case.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors