MPG and Towing Question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2010, 08:34 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
MPG and Towing Question

I've had my new red crew cab 2010 350 for 3 weeks and have 2250 miles on it. I'm getting 14 mpg--is that in the ballpark? (yes, I'm a Newbie!) I traded in a 250 6.0 and was getting about 17 mpg. My husband and I are thinking of upgrading our travel trailer (bumper pull) to a 36' Fuzion 5th wheel--anybody tow a big rig like that? Can my 350 handle it? Ideas on what my gas mileage will be while towing?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-16-2010, 09:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Welcome to the org!

14mpg hand calculated or going by the meter? If it is calculated is pretty good for a stock truck. I get around 11.5-12 on my stock f250 and 8-9mpg towing 9k.
Old 07-17-2010, 03:04 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Hand calculated. I hope we will get 8-9 towing! On my old 250 my average was around 7. We've towed once with my new 350 and got 6.4. Does a 5th wheel improve mpg? I don't know which figure to use for towing. Our current trailer is speced at 6250 dry, 11K gross. We usually haul a couple of full size ATVs as well. Thanks for your response.
Old 07-22-2010, 12:33 AM

We have a 34' fiver I pull with my 250. I think a fiver pulls better than a bumper pull. Before I put the Spartan on the truck, I got 9.5-10.5 mpg. Now I can get close to 13 if I drive sensible!
Old 07-22-2010, 04:13 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

I have a 36' Cougar fiver that is 9700 dry. Loaded with all the essentials I am sure it is pretty close to 11,000.