"Motors Need To Be Run Hard"..What Does This Mean? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2010, 10:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
"Motors Need To Be Run Hard"..What Does This Mean?

I've read here and on various other sites that diesel motors need to be run hard. Does this mean an extended period of time, pulling a load, above a certain speed, or exactly what? This is my first diesel and I'm still learning about it. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-01-2010, 10:23 AM
<-Day Of Fail now SOLD

All it means is not to be afraid to mash on the go pedle every once and a while. It helps clean out some of the carbon that might be clogging up the turbo.

Its nice to stay under 2k rpm all the time to save on fuel, but these trucks love to be used like they were designed. Load it up to its max and make it work don't be white haired grandpa all the time.
Old 04-01-2010, 10:29 AM
Let's Run'em

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by POWERED SPARKLESS View Post
All it means is not to be afraid to mash on the go pedle every once and a while. It helps clean out some of the carbon that might be clogging up the turbo.

Its nice to stay under 2k rpm all the time to save on fuel, but these trucks love to be used like they were designed. Load it up to its max and make it work don't be white haired grandpa all the time.
Exactly.....these are technically work trucks and they need to be driven like work trucks every once and while, ever wonder why a old work truck runs forever. Running hard means giving it hell when getting on the freeway or from a street light, but the best is when pulling a load so that what the truck can really clean itself out, just watch those EGTs
Old 04-01-2010, 10:40 AM