Why/How Does Fuel Get Into The Oil? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2010, 10:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Why/How Does Fuel Get Into The Oil?

I'm no mechanic so I am trying to understand how this happens. Is it possible that this happens because of not completing the regen when it starts? I now have about 13,000 miles on my truck and my oil level has not gone up at all between oil changes, however when I see then "Cleaning Exhaust Filter" I drive around (I live in the county where the normal speeds are 40mph) until the regen is complete which most times is about 20 minutes total. What is the tell tale sign that there is fuel in the oil? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-20-2010, 02:34 AM

Fuel is sent into the motor during the regen process. It's sent thru the exhaust stroke to get to the dpf. Once in the dpf, it's used to burn the soot for better emissions
Old 03-20-2010, 06:36 AM
Emergency Services

On the exhaust stroke they inject more fuel to get some fuel into the exhaust stream. Not all that fuel ends up in the exhaust. Some of it slips past the rings into the oil.

Fuel in the oil = bad news. That is why the majority of the people on here do a DPF delete and tune their trucks to stop the regen process.

Oil being over full is usually a good sign that you have fuel in your oil. To be absolutely sure, you can send a sample of your oil to Blackstone Labs and have it analyzed. They will tell you if there is any apparent engine wear, any coolant in the oil, etc. As well as the fuel dilution percentage. There are other companies that do this too, but Blackstone is the one that most people on here use.
Old 03-20-2010, 06:51 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic