Should I buy a 6.0 over a 7.3 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2009, 12:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Should I buy a 6.0 over a 7.3

I have some experience with diesels, so I know what I'm getting into.

I've come across some 6.0s and some 7.3s all similarly equipped for relatively the same price.

So, my question is, other than being newer (which helps my insurance lol), why should I get a 6.0 over a 7.3?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-11-2009, 04:44 AM

6.0 Easier to find, nicer ammenities :0)
Old 06-11-2009, 05:08 AM

6.0's are faster and more fun to drive, but have their share of gremlins. If you prefer reliabilty over high performance, you can't go wrong with the 7.3. If you want high performance over reliabilty get a 6.0. If you want reliabilty and high performance get a 6.0 and do the egr delete and head studs, then hope for the best.
Old 06-11-2009, 05:53 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zytek_Fan View Post
why should I get a 6.0 over a 7.3?
You shouldn't, unless you want EGR and oil cooler problems, and probably head stud issues, too

Last edited by Manatee; 06-11-2009 at 07:08 AM.
Old 06-11-2009, 06:16 AM

the basic truck is much improved with the 6.0 especially the 05 and newer ones. 6.0 just performs better.
Old 06-11-2009, 06:35 AM
Unapologetically American

Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manatee View Post
You shouldn't, unless you want EGR and oil cooler problems, and probably head stud issues, too