EDGE INSITE! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 05-17-2009, 12:25 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
joe sinacola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: new hudson michigan
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
EDGE INSITE!

So everyone that has an edge insite, are you guys happy with it and would you recomend it over analog gauges? im between gaugs and an insite.

08 king ranch f-350
fully deleted
intake/ exhaust
arp head studs
all ford updates performed
no limit fab
bd 6.0 manifolds and up pipes
cooant filter
external trans filter, deep trans pan
35" toyo a/t on 18" xd riots
recon leds, hids, led light bar
kenwood nav, bluetooth, reverse camera
remote starter
joe sinacola is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 05-17-2009, 12:41 PM
Premium Member
 
06F250FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I actually have both in my truck right now. I have the insight in the dash pod, sits right above the A/C Vent on drivers side; and gagues in a pod over the mirror. Honestly, I like having both. I don't see much of a difference in temps between the analog and the insight, maybe 5-10 degrees max difference between trans temp gauges, little to no difference between boost, and I don't have the EGT probe for the insight. I like having the engine oil temp(EOT) and engine coolant temp(ECT) on the insight. The insight is simple to install, just plug in the OBDII port, set what parameters you want to monitor, backlight color, and roll on. If you do decide to get one, and it won't read the trans temp, email edge tech support and they will send you the latest firmware to fix that. Mine actually has the MSD Dashhawk firmware installed now, and I get 7 more screens of PID's I can watch, for a total of 11 screens. The insight firmware only allows 4 screens which honestly is plenty, but mine would not read trans temp and that was the fix they sent me.

06 F-250XLT FX4. AccuFab Elbow, MBRP 4" exhaust w/ no kitty, AMSOIL/Injen Intake, IssPro Gauges in overhead mount, SCT X3 Tuned by Innovative, Edge Insight in dash pod, BYPASS OIL FILTER, ZooDad mod,

06F250FX4 is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 05-17-2009, 01:04 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
joe sinacola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: new hudson michigan
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so if i buy a new one right now it wont read trans temp but if i tell them? they will send me new firmware and then it will read trans temp?

08 king ranch f-350
fully deleted
intake/ exhaust
arp head studs
all ford updates performed
no limit fab
bd 6.0 manifolds and up pipes
cooant filter
external trans filter, deep trans pan
35" toyo a/t on 18" xd riots
recon leds, hids, led light bar
kenwood nav, bluetooth, reverse camera
remote starter
joe sinacola is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 05-17-2009, 01:14 PM
Premium Member
 
06F250FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It is really hit an miss. When you register online for your warranty, you create an account with edge. They can send the update to this account, and as soon as you plug the edge into your computer, it will let you know there is an update available. Takes a minute or so for the update to download into your insight and then it is good to go. Some peoples reads the trans temp right out of the box, others won't. Mine was fixed in a matter of an hour or so of receiving the insight and emailing tech support.

06 F-250XLT FX4. AccuFab Elbow, MBRP 4" exhaust w/ no kitty, AMSOIL/Injen Intake, IssPro Gauges in overhead mount, SCT X3 Tuned by Innovative, Edge Insight in dash pod, BYPASS OIL FILTER, ZooDad mod,

06F250FX4 is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 05-17-2009, 01:17 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
DA-HEAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just to let you know I have a brand new in box edge insight, dash pod for 05-07, and the egt probe all brand new in box oppened only to look in side if you might be interested.

-Gene
6.0 Powerstoke
-
DA-HEAT is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 05-17-2009, 01:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Anaconda, MT
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have the insite and I couldn't be happier. The only thing I don't like is that it resets every time I unplug it from the ODB2 port. I would have thought it saved my info. I don't unplug it often so it's really not a big deal.

2005 F-350 6.0 Lariat FX4, Crew-Cab, Long-Box, SRW, Auto
Full EGR Delete
ARP Studs
Coolant Filtration System
X3 with Innovative Tunes
Edge Insight Gauge with EGT
4" MBRP Turbo Back exhaust w/ Cat Delete
Line-X Bed, 6000k HIDs
B&W Gooseneck Hitch
Skyjacker Leveling Springs
2008 Style Rear Diff Cover with Royal Purple fluid
anaconda33 is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 05-17-2009, 02:01 PM
Premium Member
 
06F250FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine saves all my settings every time I have unplugged it. Might try setting up your setting with the insight hooked to the computer. Not sure if it will make any difference, but that is how I set my screens up. Just a thought.

06 F-250XLT FX4. AccuFab Elbow, MBRP 4" exhaust w/ no kitty, AMSOIL/Injen Intake, IssPro Gauges in overhead mount, SCT X3 Tuned by Innovative, Edge Insight in dash pod, BYPASS OIL FILTER, ZooDad mod,

06F250FX4 is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 05-17-2009, 02:18 PM
My 6OH Hates Me


 
mudrunninpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nexus of the Universe
Posts: 24,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
been very pleased with my insight. easy to use, reads and clears codes. egt probe is easy to install

Mike




"The Iron Pig"



mudrunninpig is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 05-17-2009, 02:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Anaconda, MT
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 06F250FX4 View Post
Mine saves all my settings every time I have unplugged it. Might try setting up your setting with the insight hooked to the computer. Not sure if it will make any difference, but that is how I set my screens up. Just a thought.
Thanks. I'll try that. There are only two things I have to change each time i unplug it - screen color and EGT probe to the EDGE EGT.

2005 F-350 6.0 Lariat FX4, Crew-Cab, Long-Box, SRW, Auto
Full EGR Delete
ARP Studs
Coolant Filtration System
X3 with Innovative Tunes
Edge Insight Gauge with EGT
4" MBRP Turbo Back exhaust w/ Cat Delete
Line-X Bed, 6000k HIDs
B&W Gooseneck Hitch
Skyjacker Leveling Springs
2008 Style Rear Diff Cover with Royal Purple fluid
anaconda33 is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 05-17-2009, 02:58 PM
My 6OH Hates Me


 
mudrunninpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nexus of the Universe
Posts: 24,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by anaconda33 View Post
Thanks. I'll try that. There are only two things I have to change each time i unplug it - screen color and EGT probe to the EDGE EGT.
when you plug it back in it asks 2 questions. 1. gas or diesel or other, pick diesel 2. It asks if you want factory settings. pick no and it will use your last setting. if you pick yes, it will go to the edge original settings and you will have to re do the egt and screen settings.

Mike




"The Iron Pig"



mudrunninpig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome