Stupid Question: - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Musella, Ga
Posts: 1,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Stupid Question:

When Ford replaces the heads(under warraty) on a 6.0 do they put studs in or bolt again?

The 05 f350 I just bought had head and head bolt replacement on the oasis report @ 98k. Just wondering if they went back with stronger bolts or studs or the same crappy stock bolts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Musella, Ga
Posts: 1,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anybody??????????????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:10 PM
Chug-a-lug!!!


 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Porum,OK
Posts: 3,794
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
You can see the headbolts if you look from the drivers side. If it has a stud sticking up with a place to tighten with a torx driver and a nut on it, it is a stud. If it just looks like a regular bolt, that's because it is.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Musella, Ga
Posts: 1,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
HMMM, I'm an idiot, thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Musella, Ga
Posts: 1,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
But the question still lies; does/will Ford install studs or is it strictly after market?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:21 PM
PMR = JUNK

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW, Ohio
Posts: 11,189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Jake Send a message via Yahoo to Jake
Im no expert, but i think they will install studs, if you give them to them to install, otherwise i think they just use bolts with a thicker 7 layer gasket. Im not 100% sure on that, so i could be a bit off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:21 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Moose jaw,saskachewan,canada
Posts: 2,022
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
some dealers do and some dont......you would have to get the studs yourself.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:22 PM
Chug-a-lug!!!


 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Porum,OK
Posts: 3,794
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by willholl79 View Post
But the question still lies; does/will Ford install studs or is it strictly after market?
From what I have read on here some dealers will install headstuds upon yor request if you provide them. It is encouraged that you "pad their pockets" a bit if they are willing to work with yu in this regard as it is not a general pratice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:22 PM
one day at a time

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tipton, Iowa
Posts: 9,439
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ford only installs OEM bolts on a HG repair job. It's up to you, the customer, to supply the ARP head studs to your dealership IF they'll allow you to substitute them for the factory bolts. Most dealerships will cooperate, but a lot will not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Musella, Ga
Posts: 1,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So if the stock head bolts suck, and the head/head gasket fail; why would they replace with the same bolt?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors