SCT, Tire Size & Speedo Adjustments? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2009, 06:52 AM
Big Daddy!
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spring/Tomball
Posts: 1,333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SCT, Tire Size & Speedo Adjustments?

There is a place for Tire size selection in the SCT. If you enter other than stock does the computer make adjustments to the speedometer for the difference in diameter?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-13-2009, 07:01 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,018
Thanks: 109
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
It just adjusts the tire size for shifting. Doesnt do anything for the speedo
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-13-2009, 07:10 AM
Big Daddy!
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spring/Tomball
Posts: 1,333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I thought so, but I wasn't sure
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-13-2009, 08:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertcarmel View Post
There is a place for Tire size selection in the SCT. If you enter other than stock does the computer make adjustments to the speedometer for the difference in diameter?
Seems pretty obvious that it would have this ability, but, for whatever reason it doesn't
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-13-2009, 09:27 AM
Chug-a-lug!!!


 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Porum,OK
Posts: 3,794
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
It just adjusts the tire size for shifting. Doesnt do anything for the speedo
Really? I thought for sure it adjusted the speedo. How do you do that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-13-2009, 09:30 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Shawnee, OK
Posts: 4,938
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You need a "truspeed" (I think thats what its called) to adjust the speedo
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-13-2009, 09:31 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,018
Thanks: 109
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroken04 View Post
You need a "truspeed" (I think thats what its called) to adjust the speedo
You need a superlift truspeed, Auto engineuity, The TS Respeed. Or ford can flash it for up to 35s
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-13-2009, 09:39 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
You need a superlift truspeed, Auto engineuity, The TS Respeed. Or ford can flash it for up to 35s
The dealership can flash it, but when I asked about it before I bought my X3 (thinking I could adjust the speedo with that) they could not (or would not) guarantee the accuracy. Nor would they reflash till it was correct without charging for any subsequent reflashes. So be aware of that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-13-2009, 09:40 AM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,239
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
Is it only the X3 that has the tire size adjustment option? I have the Xcal2 and haven't seen that option. Can it be written into the tune?? I know on DJ's tunes I can adjust my shift points but on erics I can not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-13-2009, 09:43 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,018
Thanks: 109
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rwalker View Post
Is it only the X3 that has the tire size adjustment option? I have the Xcal2 and haven't seen that option. Can it be written into the tune?? I know on DJ's tunes I can adjust my shift points but on erics I can not.
Rob the Xcal 2 has it. When you go to custom tune it. When it asks to change additional parameters say yes. Then what you are looking for is revs per mile

Use this tire calculator to figure your revs per mile Tire Size Calculator
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors