Oil Pressure - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2009, 04:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 4,260
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oil Pressure

As I'm driving and going through the rpm ranges and throttle range I notice the Eng oil pressure gage never moves. I have never noticed the stock oil pressure gage fluctuate.

Should this be???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:04 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,564
Thanks: 57
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no, the stock oil pressure guage is basically a dummy guage that goes up at 9 psi. When you start the truck, you can watch it come up as you first start it up. Dont go by anyhting on that guage. Its pretty much worthless.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:06 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lincoln Texas
Posts: 1,468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
whats the average Oil Pressure of the 7.3s?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-05-2009, 07:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 4,260
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes I do notice the fluctuation at start up. 9psi sure seems low but I understad thats a good psi. I think it would be nice to adjust it to 9.5 or even up to 10 psi.

You should go on the 7.3 forum to ask that. not too many 6.0 guys my know that. but im sure many do.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-05-2009, 04:52 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,564
Thanks: 57
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
9 psi will hardly let the truck run. you need somewhere around 20-25 PSI at warm idle for a 7.3. About the same for 6.0

WOT, I see about 50 PSI in mine.

You cannot adjust the oil pressure on our trucks cause the pump is turned by the crankshaft. The guage is basically a dummy switch, nothing more.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-05-2009, 06:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 8
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
For the 6.0L:

The minimum engine oil pressure specifications are 82.7 kPa (12 psi) at 700 rpm, 165.5 kPa (24 psi) at 1,200 rpm and 310.3 kPa (45 psi) at 1,800 rpm with the engine at operating temperature.

The oil pressure switch activates at 5 psig.

The oil pressure regulator opens at pressure of 75 psig to send flow back to the pump suction.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-06-2009, 05:37 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Casey, Illinois
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
is there any way to hook up an after market oil psi gauge that is more accurate? if so what brand is good
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-06-2009, 06:49 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,564
Thanks: 57
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes, have one hooked up in mine. Its a Stewart Warner, matches my other guages.
There is a square 1/4" plug on the last rib of the engine block next to the transmission. on the drivers side. take that plug out and hook it up there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-06-2009, 06:54 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Casey, Illinois
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC SuperTech View Post
Yes, have one hooked up in mine. Its a Stewart Warner, matches my other guages.
There is a square 1/4" plug on the last rib of the engine block next to the transmission. on the drivers side. take that plug out and hook it up there.
if i unplug that one does that disable the factory one?
how much was ur gauge?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-18-2009, 10:00 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 680
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC SuperTech View Post
Yes, have one hooked up in mine. Its a Stewart Warner, matches my other guages.
There is a square 1/4" plug on the last rib of the engine block next to the transmission. on the drivers side. take that plug out and hook it up there.
Is that for the 6.0?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors